Cities Index.
Staff Report

Anaheim City Council
March 3, 2026

Document
Staff Report
Meeting
March 3, 2026
Body
Anaheim City Council
Pages
2
Original file
131 KB
Text extracted from the city's file for reading and search. Open the original on local.anaheim.net. That file is the official record.

200 S. Anaheim Blvd.

Suite #733
Anaheim, CA 92805
Tel: (714) 765-5165
Fax: (714) 765-5164
www.anaheim.net

CITY COUNCIL AGENDA REPORT
City of Anaheim
CITY MANAGER’S OFFICE
DATE: MARCH 3, 2026
FROM: CITY MANAGER’S OFFICE
SUBJECT: SELF-CHECKOUT STATION STAFFING AND SAFETY

REQUIREMENTS FOR GROCERY AND DRUG STORES
ATTACHMENT (Y/N): YES ITEM # 09
GOVERNMENT CODE § 84308 APPLIES: NO
REQUESTED ACTION:

That the City Council discuss staffing and safety requirements for self-checkout stations at grocery and drug retail establishments in the City of Anaheim, and provide direction to staff.

DISCUSSION:

At the request of Council Member Campos Kurtz, in conjunction with Mayor Aitken, this item is being presented to City Council for discussion regarding staffing and safety requirements for self-checkout stations at grocery and drug retail establishments in the City of Anaheim.

The expansion of self-service checkout stations in grocery and drug retail stores has been a growing trend nationally. While self-checkout technology can improve efficiency, concerns have emerged regarding its impact on worker safety, retail theft, customer service, and employment levels.

In response to these concerns, the City of Long Beach became the first city in the nation to adopt a self-checkout staffing ordinance, which took effect in September 2025. The City of Costa Mesa subsequently adopted a similar ordinance on February 17, 2026, and it will take effect on April 20, 2026. Both ordinances establish minimum staffing ratios, item limits, and restricted-item policies for self-checkout stations at covered retail establishments. At the state level, California Senate Bill 442 (Smallwood-Cuevas) would establish similar requirements, but does not include a staffing ratio. SB 442 passed the Senate in June 2025 but had its August 29, 2025, Assembly Appropriations Committee hearing postponed; it is currently a 2-year bill.

Attached to this report is a comparative analysis and summary chart showing the key provisions of the Long Beach ordinance, the Costa Mesa ordinance, and California SB 442 side by side. The following is a summary of the key provisions.

Self-Checkout Station Safety
March 3, 2026

Page 2 of 2 ends

1. Staffing Ratio: Both Long Beach and Costa Mesa require one dedicated employee for every three self-checkout stations (1:3). SB 442 would require at least one dedicated employee, but does not specify a fixed ratio.

2. Item Limit: All three frameworks limit self-checkout to 15 items per transaction and prohibit the purchase of items requiring identification or stored in locked cabinets.

3. Staffed Lane: All three frameworks require at least one traditional human-staffed checkout lane to be open whenever self-checkout is in operation.

4. Right to Cure: Long Beach provides no cure period. Costa Mesa requires 15 days’ written notice before litigation may proceed. SB 442 does not specify a cure period.

5. Enforcement: Both local ordinances use a private right of action with penalties of $100 to $1,000 per employee per day. SB 442 relies on state enforcement with penalties up to $1,000 per day, capped at $200,000 in aggregate.

6. Implementation Timeline: Long Beach allowed approximately 30 days; Costa Mesa allows 60 days.

IMPACT ON BUDGET:

This is a discussion item only and will have no impact on the General Fund.

Respectfully submitted,
Greg Garcia
Interim City Manager
Attachments:

1. Self Check Out Ordinances Comparison Chart

← All documents from this meeting