CCA money · CCA
Ava Community Energy
Serves Alameda County, Tracy, Stockton, Lathrop and parts of San Joaquin County. Formerly East Bay Community Energy.
PG&Eutility territory
2018started serving
16member cities in the index
−0.1%default bill vs utility, March 2026
Default product compared with the utility
| Rates as of | Utility | Schedule | Utility bill | Default product | Difference | All products | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2026 | PG&E Ava customers on the 2018 PCIA vintage | E-TOU-C · 338 kWh | $139 | $138 | −0.1% | Bright Choice $138; Renewable 100 $144 | source |
| January 2026 | PG&E Alameda County / Ava area | E-1 · 365 kWh | $150 | $150 | −0.1% | Bright Choice $150; Renewable 100 $156 | source |
| September 2025 | PG&E Alameda County / Ava area | E-1 · 365 kWh | $158 | $155 | −1.8% | Bright Choice $155; Renewable 100 $159 | source |
| March 2025 | PG&E Alameda County / Ava area | E-1 · 365 kWh | $159 | $158 | −0.8% | Bright Choice $158; Renewable 100 $161 | source |
| January 2025 | PG&E Alameda County / Ava area | E-1 · 365 kWh | $159 | $156 | −1.8% | Bright Choice $156; Renewable 100 $160 | source |
| July 2024 | PG&E Alameda County / Ava area | E-1 · 374 kWh | $157 | $154 | −1.9% | Bright Choice $154; Renewable 100 $158 | source |
| January 2023 | PG&E Alameda County / EBCE area | E-1 · 379 kWh | $133 | $131 | −1.3% | Bright Choice $131; Renewable 100 $136 | source |
| March 2022 | PG&E Alameda County / EBCE area | E-1 · 389 kWh | $133 | $133 | −0.4% | Bright Choice $133; Renewable 100 $137 | source |
| March 2021 | PG&E Alameda County / EBCE area | E-1 · 402 kWh | $113 | $113 | −0.4% | Bright Choice $113; Brilliant 100 $113; Renewable 100 $117 | source |
| March 2021 | PG&E Alameda County / EBCE area | E-TOU-C · 587 kWh | $173 | $173 | −0.4% | Bright Choice $173; Brilliant 100 $173; Renewable 100 $179 | source |
Finances
| Year | Revenue | Power cost | Operating result | Change in net position | Net position / fund balance | Rate stabilization fund | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2022 | $555.3 million | — | — | $60.6 million | $232.5 million | $15.8 million | audited | source |
| FY2023 | $817.9 million | $658.2 million | — | $130.1 million | $362.7 million | $53.0 million | audited | source |
| FY2024 | $909.5 million | $707.5 million | $159.6 million | $172.7 million | $535.3 million | $79.9 million | audited Sales net $919,222,939; $37,407,824 to RSF, $10,504,837 from RSF. Total opex $749,942,231 (restated); unrestricted net position restated. From the FY2025 statements. | source |
| FY2025 | $797.4 million | $749.3 million | −$6.0 million | $18.6 million | $553.9 million | $188.0 million | audited | source |
Credit ratings
- S&P A (stable) — assigned 2021-12-09 source
- S&P A (stable) — affirmed 2026-02-27 source
- S&P A (stable) — affirmed Dec 2023 source
Money returned to customers
- 2022/23 Bill credits (CARE/FERA): $6 M (CARE/FERA) source
- 2023/24 (Nov–Dec 2023) $50 one-time credit to ~115,000 CARE/FERA accounts (~$6 M); $7.74 to every residential customer + volumetric commercial credits ($10.5 M): table total $13 M ($16 M incl. "savings program" per CalCCA newsletter) ($50 (CARE/FERA); $7.74 (all residential)) source
- 2025-01 One-time bill credits to "return excess revenue": $100 to ~115,000 CARE/FERA households (~$11 M); $8.82 to all residential ($4.1 M); ~$7 M non-residential: $22 M ($100 (CARE/FERA); $8.82 (all residential)) source
Savings it reports
No method is published for these figures.
- 2025-01-16 “With these credits, Ava has returned a combined $140 million in savings to its customers.” source
- 2025-10-01 “more than $160 million” source
- not stated “Stockton/Lathrop "$4.4 million" in first six months” source
Member cities
Albany · Berkeley · Dublin · Emeryville · Fremont · Hayward · Lathrop · Livermore · Newark · Oakland · Piedmont · Pleasanton · San Leandro · Stockton · Tracy · Union City
Member cities' own electricity
| Date | City | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-06-18 | Pleasanton | $80,000 a year · city saves · estimate / proposal | Pleasanton estimates saving about $80,000 per year ($320,000 over four years) on municipal electricity by switching from Ava's Renewable 100 to Bright Choice starting July 2024. product: Bright Choice · compared with Renewable 100 | passage · city original |
| 2024-03-28 | Oakland | $688,000 per year city pays more | Upgrading all Oakland municipal accounts to Renewable 100 would cost about $688,000 a year, via the Facilities fund (60–70% General Purpose Fund). | passage · city original |
| 2023-06-20 | Fremont | $100k a year · city pays more · estimate / proposal | Fremont projects about $100,000 more per year on its own electricity bill after opting all City operations up to EBCE's Renewable 100 plan. product: Renewable 100 | passage · city original |
| 2022-11-29 | Berkeley | $94,000 city pays more · approved / budgeted | Berkeley Council allotted $94,000 in 2019 to cover the first-year incremental cost of switching municipal facilities to EBCE's Renewable 100 product. product: Renewable 100 | passage · city original |
| 2022-07-25 | Livermore | $947,303 a year · city pays more · estimate / proposal | Estimated annual cost for Livermore municipal accounts to enroll in EBCE Renewable 100 under FY 2022-23 rates, $70,389 more than PG&E generation. product: Renewable 100 · compared with PG&E | passage · city original |
| 2022-07-25 | Livermore | $850,607 a year · city pays · estimate / proposal | Estimated annual cost for Livermore's municipal accounts under EBCE Bright Choice at 3% below PG&E rates, about $26,307 less than PG&E, under the FY 2022-23 rate structure. product: Bright Choice · compared with PG&E | passage · city original |
| 2022-07-25 | Livermore | $96,696 a year · city pays more · estimate / proposal | Switching Livermore's municipal accounts to EBCE Renewable 100 would cost about $96,696 more per year than Bright Choice, based on 2021 usage. product: Renewable 100 · compared with Bright Choice | passage · city original |
| 2022-07-25 | Livermore | $70,389 a year · city pays more · estimate / proposal | Enrolling Livermore's municipal accounts in EBCE Renewable 100 would cost the city about $70,389 more per year than PG&E generation rates, based on 2021 usage. product: Renewable 100 · compared with PG&E generation rates | passage · city original |
| 2022-07-25 | Livermore | $70,388 a year · city pays more · estimate / proposal | Livermore's municipal accounts on EBCE Renewable 100 would cost about $70,388 more per year than PG&E, per the staff presentation. product: Renewable 100 · compared with PG&E | passage · city original |
| 2022-07-25 | Livermore | $26,307 a year · city saves · estimate / proposal | Under EBCE's FY 2022-23 rates, Livermore's municipal accounts on Bright Choice would cost about $26,307 less per year than PG&E generation rates. product: Bright Choice · compared with PG&E | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-15 | Fremont | $624,682 a year · city pays more · estimate / proposal | Estimated annual generation cost for Fremont's city accounts if moved to EBCE Renewable 100, about $100,185 more than the current Bright Choice spending of $524,497. product: Renewable 100 · compared with Bright Choice | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-15 | Fremont | $524,497 a year · city pays · estimate / proposal | Fremont currently spends about $524,497 per year on generation charges to EBCE for city accounts on Bright Choice; Renewable 100 would cost about $100,185 more annually. product: Bright Choice · compared with Renewable 100 ($624,682) | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-15 | Fremont | $100,185 a year · city pays more · estimate / proposal | Fremont would spend about $100,185 more per year on its own electricity accounts by moving from EBCE Bright Choice to Renewable 100, proposed for the FY 2022/23 budget. product: Renewable 100 · compared with Bright Choice | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-15 | Fremont | 10% city pays more · estimate / proposal | Fremont's own electricity accounts would cost about 10% more than PG&E rates under EBCE's Renewable 100 product, versus a 1% discount under Bright Choice. product: Renewable 100 · compared with PG&E rates | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-15 | Fremont | 1% city saves · estimate / proposal | Bright Choice, an EBCE product for Fremont's municipal accounts, is priced at a 1% discount to PG&E rates, as an option versus Renewable 100 at a 10% premium. product: Bright Choice · compared with PG&E | passage · city original |
Other money with member cities
| Date | City | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-03 | Stockton | Study / start-up | $100,000 city pays · approved / budgeted | Stockton council appropriated $100,000 from Air Quality Mitigation Public Facility Fee funds for a Community Choice Aggregation feasibility study, approved August 20, 2019. | passage · city original |
| 2024-10-22 | Oakland | Joining | no fiscal impact | 25-year Ava solar-and-storage power purchase agreement for eleven critical facilities, presented as lowering electricity cost with no fiscal risk; no dollar amount. | passage · city original |
| 2024-08-19 | Piedmont | Study / start-up | $75,000 city pays · approved / budgeted | Piedmont's council appropriated up to $75,000 from its General Fund in October 2021 to cover EV charger project costs beyond Ava's allotment; included in FY 2024-25 budget. | passage · city original |
| 2023-10-02 | Piedmont | Loan / transfer to CCA | $4,167.00 a month · city pays · estimate / proposal | Piedmont would repay EBCE's $750,000 zero-interest financing for the community pool electrification through a fixed monthly fee of $4,167, January 2025 through December 2039. | passage · city original |
| 2023-07-17 | Piedmont | Loan / advance | $750,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | Piedmont is working with EBCE to secure a $750,000 low-interest loan to the city to electrify the new community pool; the loan is not a city loan to a CCA. | passage · city original |
| 2023-07-10 | Lathrop | Joining | no fiscal impact | Lathrop approves the EBCE JPA (Resolution 23-5338) and introduces its CCA ordinance; staff: no direct fiscal impact. | passage · city original |
| 2022-09-13 | Stockton | Study / start-up | $1.35 million city pays · estimate / proposal | Estimated basic startup costs for a proposed Stockton CCA, from the January 2021 feasibility analysis, incurred before operations begin; the city would typically pay them directly. | passage · city original |
| 2022-09-13 | Stockton | Joining | no fiscal impact | Stockton joins EBCE (now Ava Community Energy); staff: no joining fee and no fiscal impact on the general fund. | passage · city original |
| 2022-02-08 | Berkeley | Tax / fee | $600,000 a year · city receives · estimate / proposal | EBCE estimates Berkeley will gain $400,000 to $600,000 more in Utility User Tax proceeds annually over the next 2-3 years under the Renewable 100 portfolio. product: Renewable 100 | passage · city original |
| 2022-02-08 | Berkeley | Tax / fee | $400,000 a year · city receives · estimate / proposal | EBCE estimates Berkeley will receive an additional $400,000 to $600,000 per year in Utility User Tax proceeds over the next 2-3 years under the Renewable 100 portfolio. product: Renewable 100 | passage · city original |
| 2022-02-08 | Berkeley | Tax / fee | $105,000 a year · city receives · estimate / proposal | EBCE estimates Berkeley would receive about $105,000 per year in utility users tax revenue from existing EV drivers charging on Renewable 100, based on 2021 EV registrations. product: Renewable 100 | passage · city original |
Grants and projects for city governments
| Date | City | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-15 | Emeryville | $1,600 city receives · estimate / proposal | Ava Community Energy would donate $1,600 to Emeryville's Community Services Department for annual community events like the Harvest Festival giveaways; council is asked to accept it. | passage · city original |
| 2026-06-01 | Piedmont | $832,000 city receives · actual / audited | Piedmont's community pool project received a state grant and long-term no-interest loan totaling $832,000 from CEDA and Ava Community Energy, helping offset the $34.9 million cost. | passage · city original |
| 2024-10-01 | Emeryville | $2,500 city receives · approved / budgeted | Emeryville City Council accepted a $2,500 donation from Ava Community Energy on October 1, 2024, to help fund the Harvest Festival and Healthy Families Festival in 2024/2025. | passage · city original |
| 2024-08-19 | Piedmont | $75,000 city pays · estimate / proposal | If EV fast charger costs on Magnolia Avenue exceed EBCE's $306,660 threshold, Piedmont's City Administrator could spend up to $75,000 to cover the overage; more needs Council approval. | passage · city original |
| 2024-04-25 | Oakland | no-cost grant city receives | Ava funded Oakland's fleet-electrification assessments through a no-cost grant; the assessment priced light-duty chargers at $6.1 million. | passage · city original |
| 2024-04-15 | Piedmont | $750,000 city receives · actual / audited | Piedmont received a $750,000 zero-interest loan from EBCE (Ava Energy), repayable over 15 years, to help fund the community pool project. | passage · city original |
| 2023-12-18 | Piedmont | $ 832,800 city receives · estimate / proposal | Proposed funding source for the Piedmont Community Pool Project from an EBCE loan/CEDA grant, rising from $748,106 to $832,800 in the revised budget. | passage · city original |
| 2023-12-18 | Piedmont | $ 748,106 city receives · approved / budgeted | Current funding source for Piedmont Community Pool Project from an EBCE loan/CEDA grant of $748,106, rising to $832,800 in the proposed revised budget. | passage · city original |
| 2023-07-17 | Piedmont | $250,000 over several years · city saves · estimate / proposal | An EBCE-assisted assessment estimated electrifying Piedmont's light-duty fleet costs about $540,000 but saves over $250,000 in operating expenses across ten years versus baseline. | passage · city original |
| 2023-06-20 | Fremont | $1M city receives · actual / audited | EBCE secured $1M in federal funding to support microgrid (solar plus battery) projects on Fremont city-owned emergency facilities, planned for installation in 2024/25. | passage · city original |
| 2023-02-28 | Union City | $50,000 city receives · actual / audited | East Bay Community Energy funded $50,000 for Union City's Food Security Grant Program, listed as part of the city's COVID-19 response funding total of $942,062. | passage · city original |
| 2023-01-25 | Hayward | 25% city saves · estimate / proposal | If Hayward takes up to 25% of the EBCE community solar output, its city accounts would get a 20% bill discount worth up to about $100,000 per year. product: Community Solar (CSGT) allocation | passage · city original |
| 2023-01-04 | San Leandro | $660k city receives · approved / budgeted | EBCE budgeted $660k in its FY23 Local Development budget for energy resilient public facilities projects, which could benefit participating cities like San Leandro. | passage · city original |
| 2022-11-29 | Berkeley | $48,000 city receives · actual / audited | East Bay Community Energy gave the City of Berkeley a $48,000 grant in 2021 to electrify commercial kitchens at the South Berkeley Senior Center. | passage · city original |
| 2022-11-14 | Livermore | $250k city receives · estimate / proposal | EBCE program funding of $250k for municipal building electrification technical assistance to cities, presented in a program plan; timing and approval status not stated. | passage · city original |
| 2022-05-16 | Piedmont | $306,660 city receives · approved / budgeted | East Bay Community Energy's maximum allocation of $306,660 funds the Magnolia Avenue EV charging stations in Piedmont; the city covers costs above it, approved October 2021. | passage · city original |
| 2022-04-12 | Berkeley | $4,500 city receives · estimate / proposal | If EBCE's CALeVIP co-funding application is selected, Berkeley may receive up to $4,500 per Level 2 charging connector in incentives for fleet charging. | passage · city original |
| 2022-04-12 | Berkeley | $4,295 a year · city saves · estimate / proposal | Estimated annual savings of $4,295 at the Berkeley Transfer Station from solar PV for EV fleet charging, in a fleet electrification study done for East Bay Community Energy. | passage · city original |
| 2022-02-08 | Berkeley | $851,000 over several years · city receives · estimate / proposal | EBCE estimates Berkeley could net up to $851,000 in Site License revenue from fast-charging hubs, after recouping its $100,000/year per hub investment over 10 years. | passage · city original |
| 2022-02-08 | Berkeley | $100,000 a year · city pays · estimate / proposal | Proposed Berkeley General Fund allocation of $100,000 per hub, for three EV fast-charging hubs per year, as a service fee to EBCE, justified by expected UUT revenue. | passage · city original |
| 2022-02-08 | Berkeley | $51,000 over several years · city receives · estimate / proposal | EBCE estimates Berkeley would net at least $51,000 (up to $851,000) in Site License revenue from EV fast-charging hubs, after the city's $100,000/year per hub investment over 10 years. | passage · city original |
| 2022-02-08 | Berkeley | $50,000 over several years · city receives · estimate / proposal | EBCE estimates Berkeley's net profit from EV fast-charging hub site license revenue over a ten-year agreement at a low end of $50,000, up to $851,000. | passage · city original |
| 2022-02-08 | Berkeley | $49,000 city receives · actual / audited | East Bay Community Energy awarded Berkeley a $49,000 grant in 2021 for commercial kitchen electrification at the North and South Berkeley Senior Centers. | passage · city original |