CCA money · CCA
Clean Power Alliance
Serves Los Angeles and Ventura county communities.
SCEutility territory
2019started serving
38member cities in the index
0.0%default bill vs utility, SCE June 1, 2026 / CCA July 1, 2026
Default product compared with the utility
| Rates as of | Utility | Schedule | Utility bill | Default product | Difference | All products | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SCE June 1, 2026 / CCA July 1, 2026 | SCE CPA member cities (main sheet) | DOMESTIC (D) · 523 kWh | $196 | $196 | 0.0% | Lean Power $192; Clean Power $196; 100% Green Power $209 | source |
| SCE January 1, 2026 / CCA February 1, 2026 | SCE CPA member cities (main sheet) | DOMESTIC (D) · 523 kWh | $196 | $199 | +1.3% | Lean Power $195; Clean Power $199; 100% Green Power $211 | source |
| January 1, 2026 | SCE CPA cities that joined in 2025 (La Canada Flintridge, Lynwood, Port Hueneme; 2025 PCIA vintage) | DOMESTIC (D) · 523 kWh | $196 | $206 | +5.0% | Lean Power $195; Clean Power $196; 100% Green Power $206 | source |
| SCE November 15, 2025 / CCA July 1, 2025 | SCE CPA member cities (main sheet) | DOMESTIC (D) · 541 kWh | $210 | $201 | −4.4% | Lean Power $197; Clean Power $201; 100% Green Power $212 | source |
| October 1, 2025 | SCE CPA cities that joined in 2025 (La Canada Flintridge, Lynwood, Port Hueneme; 2025 PCIA vintage) | DOMESTIC (D) · 541 kWh | $212 | $222 | +5.0% | Lean Power $210; Clean Power $212; 100% Green Power $222 | source |
| SCE June 1, 2025 / CCA July 1, 2025 | SCE CPA member cities (main sheet) | DOMESTIC (D) · 541 kWh | $188 | $188 | 0.0% | Lean Power $184; Clean Power $188; 100% Green Power $199 | source |
| March 1, 2025 | SCE CPA member cities (main sheet) | DOMESTIC (D) · 541 kWh | $192 | $194 | +1.0% | Lean Power $192; Clean Power $194; 100% Green Power $203 | source |
| SCE January 1, 2025 / CCA July 1, 2024 | SCE CPA member cities (main sheet) | DOMESTIC (D) · 541 kWh | $193 | $208 | +8.0% | Lean Power $206; Clean Power $208; 100% Green Power $218 | source |
| SCE June 1, 2024 / CCA July 1, 2024 | SCE CPA member cities (main sheet) | DOMESTIC (D) · 520 kWh | $186 | $186 | 0.0% | Lean Power $184; Clean Power $186; 100% Green Power $196 | source |
| SCE March 1, 2024 / CCA July 1, 2023 | SCE CPA member cities (main sheet) | DOMESTIC (D) · 520 kWh | $189 | $186 | −2.0% | Lean Power $184; Clean Power $186; 100% Green Power $192 | source |
| SCE October 1, 2023 / CCA July 1, 2023 | SCE CPA member cities (main sheet) | DOMESTIC (D) · 569 kWh | $204 | $196 | −4.0% | Lean Power $194; Clean Power $196; 100% Green Power $203 | source |
| SCE June 1, 2023 / CCA July 1, 2023 | SCE CPA member cities (main sheet) | DOMESTIC (D) · 569 kWh | $203 | $195 | −3.9% | Lean Power $193; Clean Power $195; 100% Green Power $202 | source |
| SCE March 1, 2023 / CCA April 1, 2023 (as printed) | SCE CPA member cities (main sheet) | DOMESTIC (D) · 569 kWh | $192 | $183 | −4.6% | Lean Power $180; Clean Power $183; 100% Green Power $190 | source |
| October 1, 2022 | SCE CPA member cities (main sheet) | DOMESTIC (D) · 564 kWh | $177 | $175 | −1.2% | Lean Power $173; Clean Power $175; 100% Green Power $180 | source |
| SCE June 1, 2022 / CCA July 1, 2022 | SCE CPA member cities (main sheet) | DOMESTIC (D) · 564 kWh | $172 | $172 | 0.0% | Lean Power $170; Clean Power $172; 100% Green Power $177 | source |
| SCE October 1, 2021 / CCA July 1, 2021 | SCE CPA member cities (main sheet) | DOMESTIC (D) · 594 kWh | $166 | $178 | +7.1% | Lean Power $177; Clean Power $178; 100% Green Power $183 | source |
Finances
| Year | Revenue | Power cost | Operating result | Change in net position | Net position / fund balance | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | $1.17 billion | — | — | $80.3 million | $221.5 million | audited From the 3-year MD&A table in the FY2025 statements. | source |
| FY2024 | $1.36 billion | $1.22 billion | $95.9 million | $106.1 million | $327.7 million | audited Total operating expenses $1,260,700,163. | source |
| FY2025 | $1.44 billion | $1.28 billion | $115.2 million | $136.9 million | $464.6 million | audited | source |
Credit ratings
Money returned to customers
- 2020 COVID-19 bill credits (board approved $1 M May 2020, doubled to $2 M Oct 2020): $2 M; "reached more than 77,000 customers" (2020 report); $1,326,025 to 51,556 customers as of 2020-09-11 (~$26 avg (derived: $1.33 M / 51,556; not stated by CPA)) source
- 2020-05 → 2022-10-01 Rate freeze for CARE/FERA/Medical Baseline customers: $10.1 M in benefits source
- 2021–22 CAPP arrearage credits (state ARPA funds passed through, not CPA money): $15.8 M source
- 2020–2025 Total "subsidies" since 2020 (aggregate): "more than $27 million" source
Savings it reports
No method is published for these figures.
- 2025-01-29 “Prepay green bond program "set to generate $361 million in cost savings"” source
- 2025 Impact Report “>$360 million in savings over the next eight years” source
- 2021-06-30 “Aug 2020: CPA offered "roughly a 1 to 2 percent savings" vs SCE base rates; by June 2021 "CPA's residential customers are now all paying higher monthly electric bills compared with SCE's rates for comparable renewable power content" — typical Long Beach residents would pay "2 to 10 percent higher" (CARE 3–14% higher)” source
Member cities
Agoura Hills · Alhambra · Arcadia · Beverly Hills · Calabasas · Camarillo · Carson · Claremont · Cudahy · Culver City · Downey · Fillmore · Hawaiian Gardens · Hawthorne · Hermosa Beach · La Cañada Flintridge · Lynwood · Malibu · Manhattan Beach · Monrovia · Moorpark · Ojai · Oxnard · Paramount · Port Hueneme · Redondo Beach · Rolling Hills Estates · Santa Monica · Santa Paula · Sierra Madre · Simi Valley · South Pasadena · Temple City · Thousand Oaks · Ventura · West Hollywood · Westlake Village · Whittier
Member cities' own electricity
| Date | City | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-04-17 | Santa Paula | 3% or $6,601 annually city pays more | The 66 city accounts kept on 100% Green cost 3%, $6,601 a year, more. | passage · city original |
| 2023-06-07 | Santa Paula | 7.8% increase or $95,413 city pays more | CPA estimate for Santa Paula's 78 accounts ($1,231,098 a year): a 100% Green default would add $95,413 (7.8%); council chose 100% Green. | passage · city original |
| 2023-06-07 | Santa Paula | 0.6% increase or $7,833 city pays more | If streetlights and water pumping opted out, 100% Green would add $7,833 (0.6%) a year to city accounts. | passage · city original |
| 2023-06-07 | Santa Paula | $1,141 a year · city pays more · estimate / proposal | If Santa Paula opts out street lighting and water pumping accounts and picks the Clean tier, its FY2023-24 electricity costs would rise an estimated $1,141 versus SCE. product: Clean Power · compared with SCE | passage · city original |
| 2023-06-07 | Santa Paula | $893 a year · city saves · estimate / proposal | If Santa Paula opts out of street light and water pumping accounts and chooses Lean, it would save an estimated $893 in FY2023-24 electricity costs versus SCE. product: Lean Power · compared with SCE | passage · city original |
| 2022-10-26 | Camarillo | $240,750 city pays more · approved / budgeted | Council approved appropriating $240,750 from General Fund balances (incl. Lighting/Landscaping) for the estimated electricity cost increase of moving city accounts from SCE to Clean Power Alliance Green. product: Green · compared with Southern California Edison | passage · city original |
| 2022-10-26 | Camarillo | $68,490 city pays more · approved / budgeted | Council approved moving remaining city and sanitary district accounts from SCE to Clean Power Alliance Green, appropriating $68,490 from Sanitary District fund balance for the estimated electricity cost increase. product: Green · compared with Southern California Edison | passage · city original |
| 2022-10-26 | Camarillo | $17,550 city pays more · approved / budgeted | Council approved appropriating fund balance for the estimated electricity cost increase of $17,550 to the Water Utility Fund from moving accounts from SCE to Clean Power Alliance Green. product: Green · compared with Southern California Edison | passage · city original |
| 2022-09-20 | Paramount | $416,445 city pays more · estimate / proposal | Approximate cost of the City's municipal electricity accounts under Clean Power Alliance's proposed 100% Green Power tier, 2.86% above the Clean Power tier. product: 100% Green Power · compared with Clean Power tier ($404,887) and Lean Power (current, $401,025) | passage · city original |
| 2022-09-20 | Paramount | $16,500 city pays more · estimate / proposal | Moving all Paramount municipal electricity accounts from Lean Power to 100% Green Power would cost the city about $16,500 more, per CPA projections, budgeted at FY 2023 midyear. product: 100% Green Power · compared with Lean Power (36% renewable energy) | passage · city original |
| 2022-04-05 | Redondo Beach | $1,174,260 a year · city pays · estimate / proposal | Redondo Beach would pay about $1.17 million annually for its 248 municipal accounts on Clean Power (50% clean), versus $1.21 million for 100% Green, at current rates. product: Clean Power (50% clean) · compared with 100% Green Power ($1,209,998) | passage · city original |
| 2022-04-05 | Redondo Beach | $35,738 a year · city pays more · estimate / proposal | Redondo Beach would pay about $35,738 more per year for its 248 municipal CPA accounts by switching from Clean Power (50%) to 100% Green Power, at current rates. product: 100% Green Power · compared with Clean Power (50% clean) | passage · city original |
Other money with member cities
| Date | City | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-05-27 | Fillmore | Study / start-up | $10k city pays · estimate / proposal | Fillmore would pay a $10K fee for the Clean Power Alliance feasibility study; council voted 3-1 to participate, in May 2025. | passage · city original |
| 2025-02-18 | Cudahy | Study / start-up | 10,000.00 city pays | Cudahy warrant register: $10,000 paid to Clean Power Alliance on Jan 30, 2025; the register does not state the purpose. | passage · city original |
| 2024-09-17 | Cudahy | Joining | no fiscal impact | Cudahy asks staff to bring back joining Clean Power Alliance; no current General Fund impact. | passage · city original |
| 2023-11-21 | Lynwood | Joining | no fiscal impact | Staff report on CPA's JPA: no direct costs to join; the $10,000 one-time feasibility study was the required cost. | passage · city original |
| 2023-06-05 | Port Hueneme | Study / start-up | $10,000 city pays · approved / budgeted | Port Hueneme council approved, 4-1, paying Clean Power Alliance a one-time $10,000 fee for a feasibility study on the city joining CPA. | passage · city original |
| 2023-05-16 | Lynwood | Study / start-up | $10,000 city pays | Lynwood moves $10,000 from unappropriated General Fund for CPA's required feasibility study (Resolution 2023.049). | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-28 | Hermosa Beach | Tax / fee | 6% city receives | A public commenter says Hermosa Beach's 6% utility users tax on electric and gas bills brings the city revenue, and claims CCA rates could raise it. This is a claim, not a staff figure. | passage · city original |
| 2022-11-02 | Monrovia | Study / start-up | $10,000 city pays | CPA Resolution 22-09-039 (in Santa Paula's packet): Hermosa Beach, Monrovia and Santa Paula each paid a $10,000 study fee, counted as their share of CPA planning costs. | passage · city original |
| 2022-11-02 | Hermosa Beach | Study / start-up | $10,000 city pays | CPA Resolution 22-09-039 (in Santa Paula's packet): Hermosa Beach, Monrovia and Santa Paula each paid a $10,000 study fee, counted as their share of CPA planning costs. | passage · city original |
| 2022-08-03 | Santa Paula | Study / start-up | $10,000 city pays | Santa Paula pays CPA's $10,000 Applicant Impact Study fee from ARPA funds (Resolution 7416); staff: no other direct General Fund impact. | passage · city original |
| 2022-01-25 | Hermosa Beach | Study / start-up | $136,147 to date · city pays more · estimate / proposal | Estimated total additional procurement cost to the city's municipal accounts from switching to community choice aggregation electricity, summed across the 2014 to 2044 climate plan timeline. | passage · city original |
| 2022-01-25 | Hermosa Beach | Study / start-up | $90,024 over several years · city pays more · estimate / proposal | Estimated additional procurement cost of CCA electricity for Hermosa Beach municipal accounts, $90,024 over 2021 to 2044 within a $136,147 total, in a climate action plan cost table. | passage · city original |
| 2022-01-25 | Hermosa Beach | Study / start-up | $18,309 a year · city pays more · estimate / proposal | Estimated additional electricity procurement cost for the city's municipal carbon neutral plan via Community Choice Aggregation, about $18,309 in the second year column (2015), in a table covering 2014 onward. | passage · city original |
Grants and projects for city governments
| Date | City | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-20 | Beverly Hills | $250,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | Clean Power Alliance would reimburse Beverly Hills up to $250,000 for EV charging equipment at two parking structures under a proposed participation agreement. | passage · city original |
| 2026-07-14 | Whittier | $250,000 city receives · approved / budgeted | Council approved a budget amendment to accept a $250,000 Clean Power Alliance grant to the city for the Whittier Cruiser micro-transit program in FY 2025-26. | passage · city original |
| 2026-06-09 | Thousand Oaks | $168,450 city receives · estimate / proposal | Clean Power Alliance Innovation Fund grant reimbursing Thousand Oaks up to $168,450 for induction stove rebates and consultant services, proposed for acceptance in FY 2026-27. | passage · city original |
| 2026-06-09 | Thousand Oaks | $120,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | Clean Power Alliance Innovation Fund grant would reimburse Thousand Oaks up to $120,000 for residential induction stove rebates in FY 2026-27, part of a $168,450 grant. | passage · city original |
| 2026-06-09 | Thousand Oaks | $48,450 city receives · approved / budgeted | Clean Power Alliance's Innovation Fund awarded Thousand Oaks up to $168,450 for an induction stove rebate program; $48,450 of it covers consultant services. product: Innovation Fund Round 2 | passage · city original |
| 2026-05-19 | Beverly Hills | $25,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | Beverly Hills may apply for up to $25,000 from Clean Power Alliance to support reach code implementation, such as outreach, if it meets agreement requirements. | passage · city original |
| 2026-05-05 | Carson | $163,100 city receives · approved / budgeted | Clean Power Alliance grants Carson $163,100 from its Innovation Fund for an electric residential lawn and garden equipment rebate program; council approved 5-0 on May 5, 2026. | passage · city original |
| 2026-03-23 | Alhambra | $168,450 city receives · approved / budgeted | Alhambra's City Council accepted a $168,450 Clean Power Alliance Innovation Fund grant for a pilot direct-to-renter program on March 23, 2026. | passage · city original |
| 2026-01-06 | Redondo Beach | $81,610 city receives · approved / budgeted | Clean Power Alliance grant, recently awarded, would fund the $81,610 cost of ChargePoint EV chargers and networking for Redondo Beach, with no General Fund impact. | passage · city original |
| 2025-11-04 | Thousand Oaks | $24,647 city receives · estimate / proposal | Thousand Oaks requests a $24,647 Water Fund revenue budget increase for Clean Power Alliance fleet electrification grant money to partly offset EV charger purchase and installation in FY 2025-26. | passage · city original |
| 2025-10-22 | Westlake Village | $250,000 city receives · approved / budgeted | Clean Power Alliance grant of up to $250,000 funds Westlake Village EV charging stations and three electric vehicles in FY 2025-26; council approved the budget amendment. product: Energized Communities Program - Electric Fleet Transition | passage · city original |
| 2025-10-14 | Downey | $250,000 city receives · approved / budgeted | Downey council appropriated $250,000 in Clean Power Alliance grant funds for the Phase 3 EV charging stations project at the Civic Center, approved October 14, 2025. | passage · city original |
| 2025-10-07 | Redondo Beach | $250,000 city receives · approved / budgeted | Clean Power Alliance grants Redondo Beach up to $250,000 for electric charging infrastructure or electric vehicles; council appropriates it in the FY 2025-26 budget. | passage · city original |
| 2025-10-07 | Manhattan Beach | $250,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | Manhattan Beach would apply for a Clean Power Alliance Innovation Fund Round 2 grant of up to $250,000 for energy and resilience upgrades at the Public Works Facility; not budgeted. | passage · city original |
| 2025-09-30 | Carson | $225,000 city receives · approved / budgeted | Clean Power Alliance allocated Carson $250,000; Council directed $225,000 of it toward buying up to five electric vehicles, with $25,000 for EV charging costs. product: Energized Communities Program | passage · city original |
| 2025-09-30 | Carson | $220,000.00 city receives · estimate / proposal | Carson's purchase of five electric vehicles, capped at $220,000, will be fully reimbursed to the city through Clean Power Alliance's Electric Fleet Transition Program. | passage · city original |
| 2025-09-30 | Carson | $25,000 city receives · approved / budgeted | Clean Power Alliance's Energized Communities Program allocated Carson $250,000; $25,000 of it is designated to offset increased EV charging costs, the rest for electric vehicles. | passage · city original |
| 2025-07-09 | Camarillo | $250,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | Clean Power Alliance's Pathways to Electrification Program could provide up to $250,000 to Camarillo, fully funding an E-Transit Van and ZEV cost differential, with no City match required. | passage · city original |
| 2025-07-08 | Thousand Oaks | $105,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | City would spend up to $105,000 on 13 EV fleet chargers, fully offset by Clean Power Alliance's Energized Communities grant, during the 2025 council recess. | passage · city original |
| 2025-06-23 | Culver City | $164,000 over several years · city receives · approved / budgeted | Clean Power Alliance grants Culver City up to $164,000 for a two-year portable battery fleet pilot, appropriated in the FY 2025-2026 budget as a new CIP project. | passage |
| 2025-05-13 | Downey | $410,000 to date · city receives · actual / audited | Downey staff secured $410,000 in grant funding over the last year from the U.S. Department of Energy and Clean Power Alliance toward upgrading Library EV chargers to fast chargers. | passage · city original |
| 2025-05-13 | Sierra Madre | $250,000 over several years · city receives · estimate / proposal | Clean Power Alliance offers partner communities, including the city, up to $250,000 of funding per project under the Building Electrification Assistance pathway, over a three-year timeframe. | passage · city original |
| 2025-05-13 | Santa Monica | $249,100 city receives · estimate / proposal | Santa Monica staff recommend Council accept a $249,100 Clean Power Alliance Innovation Fund grant for a direct-to-renter electric appliance incentive program run by Public Works. | passage · city original |
| 2025-04-15 | Carson | $86,900 city receives · estimate / proposal | Clean Power Alliance awarded Carson $86,900 in Innovation Fund grant money for an EV Charging Wallet Pilot Program; council is asked to approve the agreement in April 2025. | passage · city original |
| 2025-03-24 | Alhambra | $250,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | Clean Power Alliance offers Alhambra technical assistance up to $250,000 for municipal electric fleet planning and implementation through contractor Optony, if Council approves participation. product: Energized Communities Program: Electric Fleet Transition Program | passage · city original |
| 2025-02-04 | Manhattan Beach | $12,500 city receives · estimate / proposal | Clean Power Alliance's Reach Code Program offers Manhattan Beach a $12,500 grant funding opportunity, alongside free technical assistance; the council is considering participation in February 2025. | passage · city original |
| 2025-01-27 | Culver City | $250,000 city receives · approved / budgeted | Culver City Council accepted a grant of up to $250,000 from Clean Power Alliance to design and build electrical infrastructure and EV charging for the city's fleet. | passage |
| 2024-12-03 | Carson | $250,000 over several years · city receives · estimate / proposal | Clean Power Alliance offers Carson up to $250,000 per project in funding under its Pathways to Electrification program, with no city match required, over about three years. product: Energized Communities Program: Pathways to Electrification | passage · city original |
| 2024-11-19 | Oxnard | $250,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | Oxnard's City Council would authorize applying for a $250,000 Clean Power Alliance Innovation Grant for a lamppost EV charging pilot; the award is not yet confirmed. | passage · city original |
| 2024-11-19 | Arcadia | $250,000 over several years · city receives · estimate / proposal | Clean Power Alliance's Energized Communities Program Innovation Grants could award Arcadia up to $250,000 per competitive grant, over a three-year program; the city plans to apply for residential rebate programs. product: Energized Communities Program Innovation Grant | passage · city original |
| 2024-09-24 | Hermosa Beach | $250,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | Clean Power Alliance offers Hermosa Beach up to $250,000 in reimbursement for building electrification, to offset the Clark Building Renovations project; council asked to approve the agreement and add the revenue. | passage · city original |
| 2024-07-02 | Thousand Oaks | $250,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | Clean Power Alliance has up to $250,000 in Energized Communities grant funding available to Thousand Oaks for municipal fleet electrification; City Manager authorized to sign the agreement during Council recess. | passage · city original |
| 2024-05-22 | Hawaiian Gardens | $250K over several years · city receives · estimate / proposal | Clean Power Alliance offers up to $250K in financial and technical assistance per member agency, including the city, for one electrification project over a three-year Energized Communities program. | passage · city original |