CCA money · City
Santa Barbara
Member of Santa Barbara Clean Energy since 2021-10 — source.
All Santa Barbara City Council meetings.
Read from the councils' own documents — check the source. Each figure was copied from a staff report, budget, financial statement or set of minutes, by a person or by a language model whose quote had to be found word for word in the document. Every figure links to the passage it came from; the city's original file is the official record. Updated 2026-10-20.
20figures
Loans, collateral and repayments
| Date | CCA | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-18 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2,131,691 city pays | ACFR: General Fund startup advance to SBCE was $2,131,691 at June 30, 2024 (still growing). | passage · city original |
| 2024-04-16 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2,096,996 city pays | ACFR: General Fund advance to SBCE was $2,096,996 at June 30, 2023 (larger than a year earlier). | passage · city original |
| 2023-04-11 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Collateral | $25,000.00 city backs · approved / budgeted | Council approved a surety bond up to $25,000 to meet the financial security requirement for the city's Santa Barbara Clean Energy CCA program, April 2023. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-14 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2,062,957 city pays | ACFR: General Fund advance to SBCE was $2,062,957 at June 30, 2022, at 1.65%, repayable over five years from FY2023. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-14 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Loan / transfer to CCA | $1.55 million city pays | FY22 General Fund budget amendment advanced $1.55 million to the Clean Energy fund for startup costs. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-14 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Loan / advance | 1.65% a year · city receives · actual / audited | The General Fund advanced $2,062,957 to the Clean Energy Enterprise Fund for Santa Barbara Clean Energy start-up costs, carrying 1.65% interest, repayable annually over five years starting FY2023. | passage · city original |
| 2022-09-27 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Loan / transfer to CCA | $542,161 city pays | Staff request an additional $542,161 loan at FY2022 year-end; whether it was disbursed is not stated. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-08 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Repaid to city | $500,000 city receives | Finance Committee refuses to forgive a $500,000 loan payment due to the General Fund; a one-year deferral to be considered. | passage · city original |
| 2020-11-17 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2 million city pays | Council approves a $2 million General Fund loan (from the SCE Thomas Fire settlement) to SBCE; minutes reproduced in the March 2022 packet. | passage · city original |
| 2020-11-17 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Collateral | $147,000 | Same action: $147,000 from the SBCE fund deposited in the City's River City Bank escrow account as financial security. | passage · city original |
Money back to the city
| Date | CCA | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-05-13 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Overhead / staff | $432,206 city receives | Sustainability & Resilience office lease ($432,206 gross) is split among Creeks, Solid Waste and SBCE funds; SBCE share not stated. | passage · city original |
| 2025-02-25 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Overhead / staff | $4,566 city receives | Position reclassification costing $4,566 in FY2025: half grant-funded, the rest funded by SBCE. | passage · city original |
| 2024-07-02 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Overhead / staff | $320k city receives | CAP staffing table: two Energy & Climate Specialists, $320k in FY26, funded by SBCE and grants. | passage · city original |
| 2024-07-02 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Overhead / staff | $200k city receives | CAP staffing table: SBCE Programs Manager position, $200k in FY25, funded by SBCE. | passage · city original |
| 2024-07-02 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Overhead / staff | $160k city receives | CAP staffing table: Grant Writer position, $160k in FY25, funded by SBCE. | passage · city original |
| 2022-06-08 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | Overhead / staff | $ 80,729 city receives | FY2023 budget moves the Energy Analyst II position from the General Fund to the Clean Energy Fund. | passage · city original |
Grants and projects paid by the CCA
| Date | CCA | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-15 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | $ (31,780) city receives | Second-year transfer from the SBCE fund to the Waterfront fund for part of the BEACON membership. | passage · city original |
| 2025-09-30 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | $5,788 city receives | SBCE fund pays the City's $5,788 match for a bicycle-parking grant project. | passage · city original |
| 2025-05-20 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | $ 27,635 city receives | Transfer from the SBCE fund to the Waterfront fund to pay part of the City's BEACON membership. | passage · city original |
| 2024-07-02 | Santa Barbara Clean Energy | $2.2 million city receives | Adopted FY25 budget includes $2.2 million from SBCE for Climate Action Plan programs, projects and staffing. | passage · city original |