CCA money · CCA
Santa Barbara Clean Energy
A City of Santa Barbara enterprise run through CalChoice; its default is 100% renewable.
SCEutility territory
2021started serving
1member cities in the index
+9.4%default bill vs utility, SCE June 1, 2026 / CCA March 15, 2026
Default product compared with the utility
| Rates as of | Utility | Schedule | Utility bill | Default product | Difference | All products | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SCE June 1, 2026 / CCA March 15, 2026 | SCE City of Santa Barbara | DOMESTIC (D) · 424 kWh | $163 | $178 | +9.4% | Green Start $163; 100% Green $178 | source |
| SCE January 1, 2026 / CCA March 15, 2026 | SCE City of Santa Barbara | DOMESTIC (D) · 424 kWh | $164 | $179 | +9.3% | Green Start $164; 100% Green $179 | source |
| November 15, 2025 | SCE City of Santa Barbara | DOMESTIC (D) · 426 kWh | $169 | $185 | +9.1% | Green Start $169; 100% Green $185 | source |
| June 1, 2025 | SCE City of Santa Barbara | DOMESTIC (D) · 426 kWh | $147 | $162 | +10.4% | Green Start $147; 100% Green $162 | source |
| SCE March 1, 2025 / CCA April 1, 2025 | SCE City of Santa Barbara | DOMESTIC (D) · 426 kWh | $150 | $159 | +5.7% | Green Start $150; 100% Green $159 | source |
| SCE March 1, 2024 / CCA April 1, 2024 | SCE City of Santa Barbara | DOMESTIC (D) · 520 kWh | $196 | $204 | +4.2% | Green Start $196; 100% Green $204 | source |
| SCE June 1, 2023 / CCA February 1, 2023 | SCE City of Santa Barbara | DOMESTIC (D) · 569 kWh | $210 | $213 | +1.5% | Green Start $204; 100% Green $213 | source |
| SCE January 1, 2023 / CCA February 1, 2023 | SCE City of Santa Barbara | DOMESTIC (D) · 569 kWh | $199 | $208 | +4.6% | Green Start $199; 100% Green $208 | source |
| SCE June 1, 2022 / CCA July 1, 2022 | SCE City of Santa Barbara | DOMESTIC (D) · 564 kWh | $178 | $187 | +5.1% | Green Start $178; 100% Green $187 | source |
Finances
| Year | Revenue | Operating result | Change in net position | Net position / fund balance | Owed to the city's general fund | Transferred to the general fund | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2022 | — | — | — | — | $2.1 million | — | audited | source |
| FY2022 | $16.3 million | — | $763,421 | — | — | — | as reported FY2022 actuals in the FY2023 year-end report table ('Add / (Use) Reserves' $763,421 shown as change). First year of service (residential from October 2021). | source |
| FY2023 | $43.4 million | $5.8 million | $5.9 million | $4.3 million | $2.1 million | — | audited Beginning-of-year net position in the FY2024 ACFR; FY2023 service charges given only as "$43.0M".; operating revenue from the city's documents; operating income from the city's documents; due to general fund from the city's documents; change in net position from the city's documents | source |
| FY2024 | $54.1 million | $20.7 million | $21.0 million | $25.2 million | $2.1 million | — | audited due to general fund from the city's documents | source |
| FY2024 | $51.3 million | — | $21.3 million | — | — | — | as reported | source |
| FY2025 | $46.9 million | −$9.4 million | −$8.5 million | $16.8 million | $0.00 | $0.00 | audited | source |
| FY2025 | $45.2 million | — | −$11.1 million | — | — | — | as reported | source |
| FY2026 | $43.8 million | — | $2.2 million | — | — | — | as reported FY2026 year-end report ('operating gain of $2.2 Million'; 'Add/(Use) Reserves' $2,231,866 shown as change). | source |
Member cities
Other money with member cities
| Date | City | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-05-13 | Santa Barbara | Overhead / staff | $432,206 city receives | Sustainability & Resilience office lease ($432,206 gross) is split among Creeks, Solid Waste and SBCE funds; SBCE share not stated. | passage · city original |
| 2025-03-18 | Santa Barbara | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2,131,691 city pays | ACFR: General Fund startup advance to SBCE was $2,131,691 at June 30, 2024 (still growing). | passage · city original |
| 2025-02-25 | Santa Barbara | Overhead / staff | $4,566 city receives | Position reclassification costing $4,566 in FY2025: half grant-funded, the rest funded by SBCE. | passage · city original |
| 2024-07-02 | Santa Barbara | Overhead / staff | $320k city receives | CAP staffing table: two Energy & Climate Specialists, $320k in FY26, funded by SBCE and grants. | passage · city original |
| 2024-07-02 | Santa Barbara | Overhead / staff | $200k city receives | CAP staffing table: SBCE Programs Manager position, $200k in FY25, funded by SBCE. | passage · city original |
| 2024-07-02 | Santa Barbara | Overhead / staff | $160k city receives | CAP staffing table: Grant Writer position, $160k in FY25, funded by SBCE. | passage · city original |
| 2024-04-16 | Santa Barbara | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2,096,996 city pays | ACFR: General Fund advance to SBCE was $2,096,996 at June 30, 2023 (larger than a year earlier). | passage · city original |
| 2023-04-11 | Santa Barbara | Collateral | $25,000.00 city backs · approved / budgeted | Council approved a surety bond up to $25,000 to meet the financial security requirement for the city's Santa Barbara Clean Energy CCA program, April 2023. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-14 | Santa Barbara | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2,062,957 city pays | ACFR: General Fund advance to SBCE was $2,062,957 at June 30, 2022, at 1.65%, repayable over five years from FY2023. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-14 | Santa Barbara | Loan / transfer to CCA | $1.55 million city pays | FY22 General Fund budget amendment advanced $1.55 million to the Clean Energy fund for startup costs. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-14 | Santa Barbara | Loan / advance | 1.65% a year · city receives · actual / audited | The General Fund advanced $2,062,957 to the Clean Energy Enterprise Fund for Santa Barbara Clean Energy start-up costs, carrying 1.65% interest, repayable annually over five years starting FY2023. | passage · city original |
| 2022-09-27 | Santa Barbara | Loan / transfer to CCA | $542,161 city pays | Staff request an additional $542,161 loan at FY2022 year-end; whether it was disbursed is not stated. | passage · city original |
| 2022-06-08 | Santa Barbara | Overhead / staff | $ 80,729 city receives | FY2023 budget moves the Energy Analyst II position from the General Fund to the Clean Energy Fund. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-08 | Santa Barbara | Repaid to city | $500,000 city receives | Finance Committee refuses to forgive a $500,000 loan payment due to the General Fund; a one-year deferral to be considered. | passage · city original |
| 2020-11-17 | Santa Barbara | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2 million city pays | Council approves a $2 million General Fund loan (from the SCE Thomas Fire settlement) to SBCE; minutes reproduced in the March 2022 packet. | passage · city original |
| 2020-11-17 | Santa Barbara | Collateral | $147,000 | Same action: $147,000 from the SBCE fund deposited in the City's River City Bank escrow account as financial security. | passage · city original |
Grants and projects for city governments
| Date | City | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-15 | Santa Barbara | $ (31,780) city receives | Second-year transfer from the SBCE fund to the Waterfront fund for part of the BEACON membership. | passage · city original |
| 2025-09-30 | Santa Barbara | $5,788 city receives | SBCE fund pays the City's $5,788 match for a bicycle-parking grant project. | passage · city original |
| 2025-05-20 | Santa Barbara | $ 27,635 city receives | Transfer from the SBCE fund to the Waterfront fund to pay part of the City's BEACON membership. | passage · city original |
| 2024-07-02 | Santa Barbara | $2.2 million city receives | Adopted FY25 budget includes $2.2 million from SBCE for Climate Action Plan programs, projects and staffing. | passage · city original |