CCA money · CCA
MCE
California's first CCA, serving Marin, Napa, Contra Costa and Solano county communities. Formerly Marin Clean Energy.
Compare a household bill on each MCE product with the utility, on your rate plan and usage (beta).
PG&Eutility territory
2010started serving
34member cities in the index
+16.5%default bill vs utility, March 1, 2026
Default product compared with the utility
| Rates as of | Utility | Schedule | Utility bill | Default product | Difference | All products | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 1, 2026 | PG&E MCE service area | E-1 · 432 kWh | $177 | $206 | +16.5% | Light Green $206; Deep Green $212 | source |
| January 1, 2026 | PG&E MCE service area | E-1 · 464 kWh | $193 | $224 | +16.3% | Light Green $224; Deep Green $230 | source |
| October 1, 2025 | PG&E MCE service area | E-1 · 464 kWh | $203 | $205 | +1.2% | Light Green $205; Deep Green $211 | source |
| April 1, 2025 | PG&E MCE service area | E-1 · 464 kWh | $208 | $210 | +1.1% | Light Green $210; Deep Green $215 | source |
| January 1, 2025 | PG&E MCE service area | E-1 · 464 kWh | $204 | $207 | +1.1% | Light Green $207; Deep Green $211 | source |
| October 1, 2024 | PG&E MCE service area | E-1 · 463 kWh | $203 | $205 | +1.0% | Light Green $205; Deep Green $210 | source |
| July 1, 2024 | PG&E MCE service area | E-1 · 463 kWh | $196 | $199 | +1.1% | Light Green $199; Deep Green $203 | source |
| April 1, 2024 | PG&E MCE service area | E-TOU-C · 445 kWh | $206 | $200 | −3.1% | Light Green $200; Deep Green $204 | source |
| June 1, 2023 | PG&E MCE service area | E-1 · 479 kWh | $175 | $173 | −0.9% | Light Green $173; Deep Green $178 | source |
| March 1, 2023 | PG&E MCE service area | E-1 · 479 kWh | $178 | $177 | −0.8% | Light Green $177; Deep Green $182 | source |
| January 1, 2023 | PG&E MCE service area | E-1 · 479 kWh | $171 | $169 | −0.9% | Light Green $169; Deep Green $174 | source |
| March 1, 2022 | PG&E MCE service area | E-1 · 489 kWh | $172 | $160 | −6.6% | Light Green $160; Deep Green $165 | source |
| March 1, 2022 | PG&E MCE service area | E-TOU-C · 481 kWh | $168 | $156 | −6.8% | Light Green $156; Deep Green $161 | source |
| January 1, 2022 | PG&E MCE service area | E-1 · 535 kWh | $170 | $183 | +7.5% | Light Green $183; Deep Green $188 | source |
| May 1, 2021 | PG&E MCE service area; mailer shows a range by PCIA vintage | E-1 · 535 kWh | $156 | $158 | +0.8% | Light Green $158; Deep Green $163 | source |
| May 1, 2021 | PG&E MCE service area | E-1 · 535 kWh | $155 | $166 | +7.2% | Light Green $166; Deep Green $171 | source |
| January 1, 2021 | PG&E MCE service area | E-1 · 529 kWh | $148 | $158 | +7.0% | Light Green $158; Deep Green $163 | source |
Finances
| Year | Revenue | Power cost | Operating result | Change in net position | Net position / fund balance | Rate stabilization fund | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2021 | — | — | — | — | $189.4 million | — | audited Prior-year net position quoted in the FY2022 row (only figure available for FY2021). | source |
| FY2022 | $469.1 million | $421.5 million | — | $13.9 million | $203.2 million | $15.0 million | audited | source |
| FY2023 | $636.6 million | $559.1 million | — | $41.0 million | $244.2 million | $30.0 million | audited | source |
| FY2024 | $767.8 million | $571.4 million | $144.1 million | $159.5 million | $403.7 million | $70.0 million | audited | source |
| FY2025 | $816.2 million | $768.5 million | −$12.2 million | $13.2 million | $416.9 million | $70.0 million | audited | source |
Credit ratings
- S&P A (stable) — affirmed "in December" (year not stated in article); during Fiscal Year 2024/25 per MCE FY2025 audit source
- Fitch A- — upgraded "in December" (year not stated; article Aug 2025) source
- Moody's A3 (stable) — upgraded late Jul 2025 (Bond Buyer article Aug 1 2025: "report released on a Wednesday") source
Money returned to customers
- 2021-04 → Customer cost-relief program (board approved up to $10 M): auto-enrolled past-due customers, up to 65,000 residential + 20,000 small business: up to $10 M authorized ($10/mo residential; $22/mo small business) source
- 2020-03 → 2021-12 MCE Cares Credit, within "almost $19 million in COVID energy bill relief from MCE and other state programs" ($11 M CAPP (state), $5 M MCE Cares Credit (MCE), $3.5 M CPUC AMP): $5 M MCE-funded of $19 M source
- 2024-03 → 2025-04 MCE Cares Credit (~12,500 households auto-enrolled): $5 M approved ($20/mo residential; $25/mo small business) source
- 2026-04-01 → 2026-12 14% generation-rate cut (to parity with PG&E), temporary credit $0.0062/kWh to offset PCIA increases, +$10 M for MCE Cares Credit; average residential bill −$12/month: $10 M (Cares) + credit (total not stated) (~$2/mo (average home)) source
Savings it reports
No method is published for these figures.
- 2025-05-07 “Since 2010, MCE customers have: Saved nearly $100 million compared to PG&E” source
- 2023-03-13 “not raising rates in 2021 "resulting in $90 million in bill savings compared to PG&E"” source
Member cities
American Canyon · Belvedere · Benicia · Calistoga · Concord · Corte Madera · Danville · El Cerrito · Fairfax · Fairfield · Hercules · Lafayette · Larkspur · Martinez · Mill Valley · Moraga · Napa · Novato · Oakley · Pinole · Pittsburg · Pleasant Hill · Richmond · Ross · San Anselmo · San Pablo · San Rafael · San Ramon · Sausalito · St. Helena · Tiburon · Vallejo · Walnut Creek · Yountville
Member cities' own electricity
| Date | City | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-16 | Pinole | $623,492.15 a year · city pays · actual / audited | Pinole's total electricity cost across its 821 municipal accounts over the past 12 months, currently on MCE Light Green, was about $623,492.15. product: Light Green | passage · city original |
Other money with member cities
| Date | City | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-03 | Richmond | Tax / fee | 10% a year · city receives · actual / audited | Richmond's utility users tax rate on gas and electric charges stayed at 10% in fiscal years 2020 through 2025; Marin Clean Energy is listed among top UUT taxpayers. | passage · city original |
| 2026-03-03 | Richmond | Tax / fee | 5% a year · city receives · actual / audited | Richmond's 5% utility users tax rate on cable TV in fiscal 2022, from a table of direct UUT rates; it is not a payment tied to a CCA. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-14 | Hercules | Joining | There is no cost to join MCE in 2023 | MCE slide: no cost for Hercules to join in 2023. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-14 | Hercules | Joining | no fiscal impact | Hercules directs staff to pursue joining MCE with Light Green as default; staff report states no fiscal impact. | passage · city original |
| 2022-09-27 | Novato | Study / start-up | $2,400 city pays · approved / budgeted | Council set a not-to-exceed $2,400 legal fee for the City Attorney to research deed restrictions on Ammo Hill before exploring a solar farm with MCE; one-time, approved September 2022. | passage · city original |
Grants and projects for city governments
| Date | City | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-20 | Pinole | $131,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | MCE rebates totaling $131,000 for heat pump water heaters at Pinole's Public Safety Building, Swim Center and Senior Center, paid to contractors directly, if the city reserves them by October 30, 2026. | passage · city original |
| 2026-10-20 | Pinole | $53,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | MCE heat pump water heater incentive of $53,000 for Pinole's Public Safety Building, part of $131,000 in rebates the council is reserving by October 30, 2026. product: MCE heat pump water heater rebate | passage · city original |
| 2026-10-20 | Pinole | $26,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | MCE offers rebates of up to $26,000 per heat pump water heater unit for Pinole city facilities; reservations are due by October 30, 2026. | passage · city original |
| 2026-09-22 | Vallejo | $63,000 city receives · approved / budgeted | MCE awarded Vallejo a $63,000 Community Benefits Fund grant for clean energy initiatives; the city is budgeting the revenue in FY26/27, with the grant term running through December 2026. | passage · city original |
| 2026-09-02 | Fairfax | $10,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | MCE's EV charging rebate could provide the Town of Fairfax up to $10,000 for two additional Level 2 charging ports at the Corporation Yard; an estimate, not guaranteed. product: MCE EV Charging Rebate | passage · city original |
| 2026-09-02 | Fairfax | $4,500 city receives · estimate / proposal | MCE offers EV charger rebates of $4,000 to $4,500 per Level 2 port that Fairfax could receive for chargers at its Corporation Yard; estimated, not guaranteed. | passage · city original |
| 2026-09-02 | Fairfax | $4,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | MCE offers EV charger rebates of $4,000 to $4,500 per Level 2 port, which Fairfax could receive for two ports at the Corporation Yard, as a preliminary estimate. product: MCE EV Charging Rebate | passage · city original |
| 2026-09-02 | Fairfax | $500 city receives · estimate / proposal | MCE's EV charging rebate could give the Town an extra $500 per charging port for Town Hall, a State-designated Priority Population location, while funds last. | passage · city original |
| 2026-08-18 | Dublin | $13,995 city pays · actual / audited | Dublin's expenditure line for MCE services tied to its 2025 fireworks program was $13,995, versus $21,454 in 2026, per the after-action report. | passage · city original |
| 2026-05-19 | Pinole | $6,196 a year · city saves · estimate / proposal | Estimated annual benefit to Pinole's Youth Center from rate optimization, a 100 kWh battery, and MCE Virtual Power Plant revenue, combining bill savings and VPP payments. | passage · city original |
| 2026-05-19 | Pinole | 38.14% a year · city saves · estimate / proposal | Estimated 38.14% reduction in Pinole Youth Center's net energy costs from battery storage, rate optimization and MCE Virtual Power Plant revenue, about $6,196 per year. | passage · city original |
| 2026-05-05 | Pinole | $340,000 city receives · actual / audited | Pinole secured up to $340,000 in MCE grant funding for backup batteries at the Youth Center and Tiny Tots/Swim Center, reported as a FY 2025/26 accomplishment. | passage · city original |
| 2026-03-31 | Vallejo | $65K city receives · actual / audited | MCE's Community Benefit Fund already awarded Vallejo $65K for a community center solar carport, LED safety corridor and energy resilience pilot project (Phase 1). | passage · city original |
| 2026-03-03 | Napa | $470,482.50 city receives · approved / budgeted | Napa City Council obligates $470,482.50 in reimbursement-based MCE rebates to the Laurel Manor Electrical Upgrades project budget, adopted March 3, 2026. | passage · city original |
| 2025-05-27 | Concord | $1 million to date · city receives · actual / audited | Concord's sustainability update reports over $1 million in rebates tied to MCE, alongside city facilities opting into Deep Green in 2023; the period is not stated. product: Deep Green | passage · city original |
| 2025-01-21 | Pinole | $7,500 city receives · estimate / proposal | Pinole's council is asked to accept a $7,500 Community Partnership Program award from MCE, awarded October 2024, to fund community engagement and outreach under its Climate Action plan. | passage · city original |
| 2024-12-03 | Pinole | $30,000 city receives · actual / audited | The City of Pinole received a $30,000 competitive grant from MCE's Community Partnership Program, reported by the City Manager at the December 3, 2024 meeting. | passage · city original |
| 2024-10-16 | Fairfax | $6,000 city receives · actual / audited | Fairfax received $6,000 from BAAQMD in November 2015 to fund an MCE Deep Green incentive pilot for 100 households; the money came from the air district, not MCE. product: Deep Green | passage · city original |
| 2024-09-16 | Pittsburg | $286,000 over several years · city receives · approved / budgeted | Total estimated cost of Pittsburg's Charge! Fleet EV Infrastructure project, partly funded by existing and new MCE grants ($77,000 existing, $44,000 new) plus a regional grant, in the 2024-25 CIP. | passage · city original |
| 2024-09-16 | Pittsburg | $242,000 city receives · approved / budgeted | A new $242,000 MCE grant allocation helps fund Pittsburg's Charge! Fleet EV Infrastructure project in the 2024-25 to 2028-29 capital improvement plan. | passage · city original |
| 2024-09-16 | Pittsburg | $ 121,000 city receives · actual / audited | Total of the MCE grant funding line ($77,000 plus $44,000) for the city's Charge! Fleet EV Infrastructure project; the figure matches the BAAQMD grant amount, so the line may be mislabeled. | passage · city original |
| 2024-09-16 | Pittsburg | $77,000 city receives · approved / budgeted | Pittsburg has secured $77,000 in MCE rebates to help fund the Charge! Fleet EV Infrastructure project for city fleet chargers. | passage · city original |
| 2024-09-16 | Pittsburg | $ 44,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | Pittsburg's Charge! Fleet EV Infrastructure project shows an additional $44,000 in MCE grant funding in 2024/25, bringing MCE funding to $121,000. | passage · city original |
| 2024-03-06 | Fairfax | $31,969 city pays · estimate / proposal | Net cost to Fairfax for EV chargers and installation after a $19,500 MCE/TAM grant reimbursement, paid from the Town Facility Improvement fund. | passage · city original |
| 2024-03-06 | Fairfax | $19,500 city receives · estimate / proposal | Fairfax anticipates $19,500 in grant reimbursement from MCE and the Transportation Authority of Marin to partly offset the cost of EV charger installation and purchase, March 2024. | passage · city original |
| 2024-02-06 | El Cerrito | $14,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | El Cerrito anticipates a $14,000 MCE rebate that reduces the Swim Center ADA and EV parking lot project cost from $677,100 to $663,100. | passage · city original |
| 2023-12-19 | Calistoga | $48,500.00 city receives · approved / budgeted | Calistoga secured $48,500 in grants and rebates, including a $17,500 MCE rebate, to help fund five new EV charging ports; the rest comes from other grant sources. | passage · city original |
| 2023-12-19 | Calistoga | $17,500.00 city receives · approved / budgeted | MCE rebate of $17,500 secured by Calistoga as one of three grants funding new EV charging stations at the fire station and pool lots. | passage · city original |
| 2023-10-24 | Vallejo | $48,000 city receives · approved / budgeted | MCE rebates of $48,000 have been set aside to help fund Vallejo's city fleet EV charger project at city facilities. | passage · city original |
| 2023-10-24 | Vallejo | $18,000 city receives · approved / budgeted | Of $48,000 in MCE rebates the Vallejo council appropriated in February 2022, $18,000 was allocated to EV chargers at the Fleming Hill Water Treatment Plant. | passage · city original |
| 2023-06-13 | San Anselmo | $133,247 a year · city receives · estimate / proposal | San Anselmo's proposed FY 2023-24 Climate Action Fund budget includes $133,247 in combined grant and rebate funding from several agencies, including Marin Clean Energy. | passage · city original |
| 2023-05-23 | San Anselmo | $3,500 city receives · estimate / proposal | MCE offers a potential grant of up to $3,500 per EV charging port to San Anselmo, which must be an MCE customer to qualify. product: EVSE grant | passage · city original |
| 2023-05-19 | Fairfax | $13,000 city receives · estimate / proposal | Fairfax's draft FY 2023-24 budget expects about $13,000 in TAM and MCE rebates to help fund a $15,000 streetlight EV charging pilot. | passage · city original |
| 2023-02-21 | Pittsburg | $95,000 city receives · approved / budgeted | Pittsburg has reserved $95,000 in MCE rebates to help pay for EV charging equipment and installation. | passage · city original |