Cities that run their own CCA
Nine California cities buy power for their residents themselves, most through the California Choice Energy Authority (CalChoice). The city is the bank: it lends start-up money, backs the collateral, and carries the CCA's cash shortfalls; in good years the CCA pays the city back and funds city programmes.
Apple Valley Choice Energy · Baldwin Park Resident Owned Utility District (BPROUD) · CleanPowerSF · Energy for Palmdale's Independent Choice (EPIC) · King City Community Power · Lancaster Energy · Pico Rivera Innovative Municipal Energy (PRIME) · Pomona Choice Energy · Rancho Mirage Energy Authority · San Jacinto Power · San José Clean Energy · Santa Barbara Clean Energy
Apple Valley Choice Energy — Apple Valley
A Town of Apple Valley enterprise run through CalChoice.
Finances by fiscal year
| Year | Revenue | Operating result | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2022 | $22.6 million | −$2.3 million | audited | source |
Money between the city and its CCA
| Date | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023-04-11 | Collateral | $147,000 city pays | Town cash of $147,000 backed AVCE's CPUC letter of credit; a surety bond paid by AVCE replaces it. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-08 | Overhead / staff | (946,500.00) city receives | Mid-year budget cuts the General Fund's budgeted 'Administrative Overhead AVCE' transfer-in from fund 5810 by $946,500. | passage · city original |
What the documents say about rates
- 2022-01-25 — “ii.) greater than Southern California Edison's total rate, or iii.) greater than four percent (4%) lower than Southern California Edison's total rate.” source
- 2023-05-23 — “as of February 2023, provides customers a 3% discount compared to Southern California Edison” source
- 2025-03-25 — “This unusual and temporary decrease has caused an average AVCE's customer bill to be approximately 9% higher than SCE.” source
- 2025-03-25 — “Adjusting rates down to achieve and maintain rate parity” source
- 2025-09-23 — “to maintain rate parity” source
Baldwin Park Resident Owned Utility District (BPROUD) — Baldwin Park
Served Baldwin Park from October 2020 until February 2022, when the city returned its customers to SCE.
Finances by fiscal year
| Year | Change in net position | Net position / fund balance | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2021 | −$177,514 | — | as reported | source |
| FY2024 | — | $142,685 | as reported Audited 06/30/2024 Fund 450 balance as shown in the FY2025 mid-year budget; the documents do not explain the drop from the projected 305,349. | source |
Money between the city and its CCA
| Date | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023-05-03 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $1,325,000 to date · city pays · approved / budgeted | Council previously authorized up to $1,325,000 in General Fund transfers to the BPROUD escrow account to cover shortfalls; a new $550,000 raises the total to $1,875,000. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-15 | Repaid to city | $1,825,000 city receives | FY23 mid-year: the General Fund books a one-time $1,825,000 transfer from BPROUD to reimburse prior expenses. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-01 | Repaid to city | $3.5 million city receives | Status report: $3.5 million moved from the BPROUD lockbox account to the General Fund; about $96,000 was left. | passage · city original |
| 2022-08-17 | Repaid to city | $274,229 city receives | Staff project $274,229 net revenue to the General Fund after the wind-down; council authorizes repaying the General Fund and Future Development Fund. | passage · city original |
| 2022-04-20 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $1,709,431 city pays | FY22 mid-year: General Fund spending revised up $1,709,431, mainly the transfer to BPROUD, expected to be reimbursed from contract sales. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-16 | Repaid to city | $2.9 million city receives · estimate / proposal | Liquidating and assigning BPROUD energy supply contracts netted about $2.918M, which would help the City recover general fund loans of $2.638M made to BPROUD. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-16 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2.6 million to date · city pays · actual / audited | Baldwin Park's general fund loaned and transferred about $2.638M to the BPROUD CCA from July to November 2021, which the city expects to mostly recover. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-16 | Repaid to city | $2,637,568 city receives | Wind-down accounting includes recovering the $2,637,568 of General Fund loans and transfers made to BPROUD. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-16 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2.6 million to date · city pays · actual / audited | City General Fund loans and transfers to cover the BPROUD program's deficit totaled $2.637 million; the city expects to recoup most of it through decertification and reversion to SCE. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-16 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2.6M city pays | Background: the city provided a loan and transfers totaling $2.6M to operate BPROUD. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-16 | Collateral | $147,000 city receives | Council recalls the $147,000 letter of credit held by River City Bank for SCE, first ratified Feb 2021 to meet CPUC financial-security rules. | passage · city original |
| 2021-09-17 | Loan / transfer to CCA | up to $550,000 city pays | Special meeting: General Fund transfer of up to $550,000 to cover September 2021's deficit and avoid a power-contract default. | passage · city original |
| 2021-07-07 | Loan / transfer to CCA | up to $775,000 city pays | Item: loan of up to $775,000 from General Fund Reserve to the BPROUD escrow account; minutes record the motion as 'to table'. | passage · city original |
CleanPowerSF — San Francisco
Run by the San Francisco Public Utilities Commission.
Finances by fiscal year
Energy for Palmdale's Independent Choice (EPIC) — Palmdale
A City of Palmdale enterprise run through CalChoice.
Finances by fiscal year
| Year | Revenue | Power cost | Operating result | Change in net position | Net position / fund balance | Owed to the city's general fund | Transferred to the general fund | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2021 | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | as reported | source |
| FY2022 | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | as reported | source |
| FY2023 | $29.4 million | — | −$50,092 | −$1.1 million | −$1.1 million | $5.2 million | $1.1 million | audited change in net position from the city's documents; due to general fund from the city's documents; transfer to general fund from the city's documents | source |
| FY2024 | $67.4 million | $57.6 million | $8.1 million | — | $7.0 million | $11.0 million | $0.00 | audited due to general fund from the city's documents; transfer to general fund from the city's documents | source |
| FY2025 | $78.0 million | $69.9 million | −$3.4 million | −$3.3 million | $3.7 million | $11.8 million | $0.00 | audited | source |
| FY2025 | $77.0 million | — | — | — | — | — | — | as reported '2025 Actuals' column of the FY2027 draft budget (CONTRACT SERVICES 72,205,157; TRANSFERS OUT 13,761, receiving fund not stated). The FY2024-25 ACFR is not in the corpus. | source |
Money between the city and its CCA
| Date | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-05-06 | Loan / transfer to CCA | 10,951,344 city pays | At 30 Jun 2024 the Palmdale CCA Fund owed the General Fund $10,951,344 in temporary cash-flow loans. | passage · city original |
| 2024-02-21 | Loan / transfer to CCA | 5,189,007 city pays | At 30 Jun 2023 the Palmdale CCA Fund owed the General Fund $5,189,007 in temporary cash-flow loans. | passage · city original |
| 2024-02-21 | Transfer to city | (1,077,918) city receives | ACFR moves $1,077,918 from the CCA column to governmental activities, shifting the General Fund's negative CCA balance to the enterprise fund. | passage · city original |
| 2023-04-05 | Collateral | $147,000 city pays | City cash of $147,000 at River City Bank has backed EPIC's CPUC letter of credit since 2021; a surety bond replaces it. | passage · city original |
What the documents say about rates
King City Community Power — King City
A single-city CCA run for King City by a contractor.
Finances by fiscal year
| Year | Revenue | Operating result | Change in net position | Net position / fund balance | Transferred to the general fund | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2022 | $2.3 million | −$157,723 | −$162,069 | $15,092 | $0.00 | audited | source |
| FY2023 | $4.4 million | $19,619 | −$29,814 | −$14,722 | $0.00 | audited transfer to general fund from the city's documents | source |
| FY2024 | $5.4 million | $390,553 | $309,090 | $294,368 | $0.00 | audited transfer to general fund from the city's documents | source |
| FY2025 | $5.0 million | $242,880 | $132,796 | $427,164 | $0.00 | audited | source |
Money between the city and its CCA
| Date | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-11-26 | Transfer to city | $170,000 city receives | Res. 2024-5016 transfers $170,000 of earned KCCP headroom to the City for the EV charging lot and other needs. | passage · city original |
| 2023-02-28 | Overhead / staff | $30,000 per year city receives | New Pilot agreement: the City is reimbursed a fixed $30,000 each November for staff costs of running KCCP. | passage · city original |
| 2022-06-14 | Transfer to city | $90,000 city receives | The budgeted $90,000 KCCP payment to the City is deleted for FY2022-23 because of the CCA's finances. | passage · city original |
| 2022-05-24 | Transfer to city | $30,000 to $90,000 city receives | Staff: KCCP has made annual payments of $30,000 to $90,000 to cover City costs. | passage · city original |
What the documents say about rates
- 2022-06-28 — “charging electric generation rates equal to PG&E electric generation rates” source
- 2023-11-28 — “approximately 3% through visa cards for residential customers and 1% rate reduction for commercial customers” source
- 2024-11-26 — “gift card rebates approximately equal to a 9% discount off of applicable PG&E energy rates” source
- 2024-11-26 — “Allocation of $90,000 towards the 2025 program is approximately equal to an effective 6% discount for residential customers” source
- 2025-11-25 — “rates "5% below" (residential) / "1% below" (commercial) PG&E” source
- 2026-01-27 — “KCCP has managed to procure energy for King City citzens that is not only less expensive than PG&E's energy, but less expensive than the cost of PG&E's energy plus the PCIA charge.” source
Lancaster Energy — Lancaster
The first single-city CCA in SCE territory; Lancaster leads the California Choice Energy Authority.
Finances by fiscal year
| Year | Revenue | Power cost | Operating result | Change in net position | Net position / fund balance | Owed to the city's general fund | Transferred to the general fund | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2015 | $275,128 | — | — | — | — | — | — | audited City enterprise fund 490. Revenue and expenses ($1,430,990) from the 10-year table in the statistical section of the FY2024 ACFR; no other figures for this year. | source |
| FY2016 | $23.4 million | — | — | — | — | — | — | audited City enterprise fund 490. Revenue and expenses ($20,238,595) from the 10-year table in the statistical section of the FY2024 ACFR; no other figures for this year. | source |
| FY2017 | $36.0 million | — | — | — | — | — | — | audited City enterprise fund 490. Revenue and expenses ($33,808,624) from the 10-year table in the statistical section of the FY2024 ACFR; no other figures for this year. | source |
| FY2018 | $37.5 million | — | — | — | — | — | — | audited City enterprise fund 490. Revenue and expenses ($34,290,014) from the 10-year table in the statistical section of the FY2024 ACFR; no other figures for this year. | source |
| FY2019 | $37.1 million | — | — | — | — | — | — | audited City enterprise fund 490. Revenue and expenses ($36,835,001) from the 10-year table in the statistical section of the FY2024 ACFR; no other figures for this year. | source |
| FY2020 | $43.4 million | — | — | — | — | — | — | audited City enterprise fund 490. Revenue and expenses ($39,741,272) from the 10-year table in the statistical section of the FY2024 ACFR; no other figures for this year. | source |
| FY2021 | $43.8 million | — | — | — | — | — | — | audited City enterprise fund 490. Revenue and expenses ($47,013,871) from the 10-year table in the statistical section of the FY2024 ACFR; no other figures for this year. | source |
| FY2021 | $46.6 million | $43.7 million | −$436,880 | −$1.3 million | $5.1 million | — | $839,136 | audited | source |
| FY2022 | $51.7 million | — | — | — | — | — | — | audited City enterprise fund 490. Revenue and expenses ($51,194,116) from the 10-year table in the statistical section of the FY2024 ACFR; no other figures for this year. | source |
| FY2022 | — | — | — | — | $5.2 million | — | — | audited The FY2021-22 ACFR is not in the corpus; $5,218,931 is the LCE net position at 30 Jun 2022 as given for the beginning of FY2022-23 in the FY2022-23 ACFR. | source |
| FY2022 | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | as reported Division 9100 LCE expenditures, FY22 actuals, from the FY2023-24 proposed budget. | source |
| FY2023 | $68.5 million | $59.1 million | $1.4 million | $3.8 million | $9.0 million | — | $898,095 | audited City enterprise fund 490. Revenue and expenses ($67,149,222) from the 10-year table in the statistical section of the FY2024 ACFR; no other figures for this year.; cost of electricity from the city's documents; operating income from the city's documents; change in net position from the city's documents; net position from the city's documents; transfer to general fund from the city's documents | source |
| FY2024 | $82.0 million | $64.1 million | $2.2 million | $563,123 | $9.5 million | $12.0 million | $2.1 million | audited due to general fund from the city's documents; transfer to general fund from the city's documents | source |
| FY2025 | $84.3 million | $77.2 million | −$3.0 million | −$3.1 million | $6.5 million | $11.0 million | $940,864 | audited | source |
Money between the city and its CCA
| Date | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-02-24 | Loan / transfer to CCA | 11,042,696 city pays | At 30 Jun 2025 the LCE enterprise fund owed the General Fund $11,042,696 from temporary deficit cash balances. | passage · city original |
| 2026-02-24 | Transfer to city | 940,864 city receives | FY2024-25 ACFR: General Fund transfers in from the LCE enterprise fund of $940,864. | passage · city original |
| 2025-08-12 | Collateral | $4,103,705.00 city backs · estimate / proposal | Starting September 1, 2025, Lancaster Energy's financial security requirement rises from $147,000 to $4,103,705, to be met by a city-authorized surety bond. | passage · city original |
| 2025-08-12 | Collateral | $100,000 a year · city backs · approved / budgeted | Council authorized the City Manager to execute amended surety bond documents for Lancaster Energy's financial security requirement, with annual bond fee not to exceed $100,000. | passage · city original |
| 2025-08-12 | Collateral | $41,037.05 a year · city backs · estimate / proposal | Annual surety bond fee for Lancaster Energy's financial security requirement rises to about $41,037.05 from September 1, 2025; paid from Lancaster Energy funds, with city executing the bond. | passage · city original |
| 2025-06-10 | Loan / transfer to CCA | 12,018,696 city pays | At 30 Jun 2024 the LCE enterprise fund owed the General Fund $12,018,696 from temporary deficit cash balances. | passage · city original |
| 2025-06-10 | Transfer to city | 2,095,405 city receives | FY2023-24 ACFR: General Fund transfers in from the LCE enterprise fund of $2,095,405. | passage · city original |
| 2024-06-11 | Overhead / staff | 1,862,829 city receives | Communications & Lancaster TV division charged $1,862,829 to fund 501 (Lancaster Choice Energy), FY2025 budget. | passage · city original |
| 2024-06-11 | Overhead / staff | 1,219,845 city receives | Communications & Lancaster TV division charged $1,219,845 to fund 501 (Lancaster Choice Energy), FY2024 revised. | passage · city original |
| 2024-06-11 | Overhead / staff | 147,329 city receives | City Council division charged $147,329 to fund 501 (Lancaster Choice Energy), FY2023 actual. | passage · city original |
| 2024-06-11 | Overhead / staff | 55,290 city receives | Communications & Lancaster TV division charged $55,290 to fund 501 (Lancaster Choice Energy), FY2023 actual. | passage · city original |
| 2024-05-07 | Loan / transfer to CCA | 11,991,715 city pays | At 30 Jun 2023 the CalChoice (CCEA) enterprise fund, then reported as a City fund, owed the General Fund $11,991,715. | passage · city original |
| 2024-05-07 | Transfer to city | 898,095 city receives | FY2022-23 ACFR: LCE transferred $898,095 to the General Fund for administrative and retiree health costs. | passage · city original |
| 2023-11-14 | Overhead / staff | $176,000 city receives | Two new City positions, including an Accountant for Lancaster Energy, funded by Lancaster Energy for six months in fund 501. | passage · city original |
| 2023-10-10 | Collateral | $2,077,101 city backs · actual / audited | The CCEA cash collateral account, tied to Lancaster Choice Energy, held $2,077,101 at the end of August 2023 in the city's treasurer's report, earning 0.90% interest. | passage · city original |
| 2023-04-11 | Collateral | $147,000 city pays | City cash of $147,000 at River City Bank backed Lancaster Energy's CPUC letter of credit; a surety bond paid by LE replaces it. | passage · city original |
| 2022-06-28 | Loan / transfer to CCA | 2,667,878 city pays | FY2020-21: LCE received $2,667,878 from other City funds and owed the same amount as 'Due to Other Funds' at 30 Jun 2021. | passage · city original |
| 2022-06-28 | Transfer to city | 839,136 city receives | FY2020-21 ACFR: LCE enterprise fund transferred $839,136 to the General Fund for administrative and retiree health costs. | passage · city original |
| 2022-06-28 | Overhead / staff | 799,108 city receives | Budget line 'GENERAL FUND OVERHEAD' in the LCE & LPA division, FY2020-21 actual. | passage · city original |
| 2022-06-28 | Overhead / staff | 640,427 city receives | Budget line 'GENERAL FUND OVERHEAD' in the LCE & LPA division, FY2021-22 estimate. | passage · city original |
What the documents say about rates
- 2022-01-25 — “(c) A rate adjustment shall not result in a rate that is more than four percent (4%) higher or lower than Southern California Edison's total rate.” source
Pico Rivera Innovative Municipal Energy (PRIME) — Pico Rivera
A City of Pico Rivera enterprise run through CalChoice.
Finances by fiscal year
| Year | Revenue | Power cost | Operating result | Change in net position | Net position / fund balance | Owed to the city's general fund | Transferred to the general fund | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2021 | $14.8 million | — | — | −$1.3 million | $3.8 million | — | — | audited | source |
| FY2022 | $18.0 million | — | — | $808,011 | $4.9 million | — | — | audited | source |
| FY2023 | $24.0 million | $17.7 million | $5.1 million | $5.5 million | $10.4 million | — | $0.00 | audited Beginning-of-year net position in the FY2024 ACFR (Pico Rivera fund 560).; operating revenue from the city's documents; cost of electricity from the city's documents; operating income from the city's documents; change in net position from the city's documents; transfer to general fund from the city's documents | source |
| FY2024 | $28.3 million | $20.2 million | $6.8 million | $7.3 million | $17.6 million | — | — | audited | source |
| FY2024 | $28.8 million | — | — | $7.3 million | $17.6 million | — | — | audited Table 9 in the ACFR staff report; MD&A gives operating revenues of $28.15 million and operating expenses of $21.51 million. | source |
| FY2025 | $28.4 million | $23.2 million | $3.6 million | $4.3 million | $22.0 million | $0.00 | $0.00 | audited | source |
| FY2025 | $29.1 million | — | — | $4.3 million | $22.0 million | — | — | audited | source |
Money between the city and its CCA
| Date | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023-03-28 | Collateral | $147,000 city pays | City cash of $147,000 at River City Bank backed PRIME's letter of credit since 2020; a surety bond paid by Fund 560 replaces it. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-28 | Collateral | $25,000 a year · city backs · estimate / proposal | City would pay about $25,000 per year, up to $125,000 over five years, for a surety bond meeting PRIME's financial security requirement. | passage · city original |
What the documents say about rates
- 2022-02-08 — “developed to mirror those of Southern California Edison (SCE)” source
- 2022-02-08 — “not ... more than five percent (5%) higher or lower than Southern California Edison's total rate” source
- 2023-01-24 — “PRIME will offer all its customers a 3% discount from SCE's generation rate” source
- 2023-05-09 — “PRIME's rates are developed to mirror SCE's generation rates with a 3% discount” source
- 2026-04-14 — “PRIME's generation rates are projected to remain approximately 10% above SCE's current generation rates after accounting for the PCIA” source
Pomona Choice Energy — Pomona
A City of Pomona enterprise run through CalChoice.
Finances by fiscal year
| Year | Revenue | Operating result | Change in net position | Net position / fund balance | Owed to the city's general fund | Transferred to the general fund | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2021 | $10.6 million | $578,976 | $575,565 | $533,712 | $183,484 | $0.00 | audited | source |
| FY2022 | $34.8 million | −$938,783 | −$954,528 | −$420,816 | — | $0.00 | audited | source |
| FY2023 | $48.9 million | $8.4 million | $8.3 million | $7.9 million | — | $0.00 | audited | source |
| FY2024 | $57.2 million | $8.9 million | $9.0 million | $16.9 million | $0.00 | $0.00 | audited | source |
| FY2025 | $61.2 million | $5.5 million | $6.3 million | $23.2 million | $0.00 | $0.00 | audited | source |
Money between the city and its CCA
| Date | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-06-15 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2,195,501 city pays | Water Enterprise Fund advance to PCE outstanding at June 30, 2025. | passage · city original |
| 2026-03-16 | Overhead / staff | $418k city receives · estimate / proposal | Staff requests a $418k mid-year appropriation to Pomona's Energy Choice Fund, correcting an entry omitted from the first-quarter action tied to General Fund administrative services, in FY 2025-26. | passage · city original |
| 2025-12-15 | Repaid to city | $7.7 million city receives | PCE makes its final Water Fund loan payment on December 1, 2025; the three loans totalled $7.7 million. | passage · city original |
| 2025-12-15 | Repaid to city | $47,500 city receives | Five-year update: loan payments to the General Fund of $47,500; Water Fund repaid in full. | passage · city original |
| 2025-11-17 | Overhead / staff | $418,088 city receives | General Fund books $418,088 of recovered PCE administrative costs and spends it on the City Hall remodel. | passage · city original |
| 2024-01-22 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $6,475,682 city pays | Water Enterprise Fund advance to PCE outstanding at June 30, 2023. | passage · city original |
| 2022-05-09 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $6.9M city pays · approved / budgeted | Pomona budgeted $6.9M in the Water Fund in FY 2021-22 for a loan to Pomona Choice Energy, which explains part of the FY 2022-23 Enterprise Funds decrease. | passage · city original |
| 2022-01-24 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $735,836 city pays | Water Enterprise Fund advance to PCE outstanding at June 30, 2021. | passage · city original |
| 2022-01-24 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $183,484 city pays | PCE owed the General Fund $183,484 (short-term, negative cash) at June 30, 2021. | passage · city original |
| 2022-01-10 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $4.5 million city pays · approved / budgeted | On July 19, 2021, Pomona's council authorized a $4.5 million loan from the Water Fund to Pomona Choice Energy to cover revenue shortfalls. | passage · city original |
| 2022-01-10 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2,400,000 city pays | Res. 2022-09: third Water Fund loan for an energy-cost cash shortfall, 1.25% interest (about $72,500), repaid from year-end surplus. | passage · city original |
| 2022-01-10 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $783,428 city pays | Resolution recital: Water Fund reserves loaned to the CCA fund (Mar 2, 2020) to create Pomona Choice Energy. | passage · city original |
| 2022-01-10 | Repaid to city | $72,500 over several years · city receives · estimate / proposal | Estimated interest of $72,500 that Pomona Choice Energy Authority Fund would pay the city's Water Fund on the $2.4 million loan, under an estimated payment schedule. | passage · city original |
| 2022-01-10 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $47,250 city pays | Resolution recital: General Fund money for the CCA implementation plan (Oct 15, 2018); repaid per the 2025 five-year update. | passage · city original |
What the documents say about rates
- 2022-01-10 — “three percent under the rates charged by SCE” source
- 2022-01-10 — “no higher than three percent above SCE's rates” source
- 2023-03-06 — “five percent under the January 2023 SCE rate” source
- 2023-03-06 — “PCE now provides the same service to its residential customers, but with an average discount of $4.36 per month” source
- 2023-08-07 — “PCE customers continue to enjoy a rate that is five percent less than the rates charged by SCE” source
- 2024-01-22 — “Pomona Choice Energy Authority's rates nearly mirror So Cal Edison's rates but with a slight discount.” source
- 2025-04-21 — “Pomona Choice Energy Authority's rates nearly mirror So Cal Edison's rates but with a slight discount.” source
- 2025-12-15 — “three percent below that of SCE” source
- 2025-12-15 — “the average residential customer pays a bill that is $2.13 less per month than SCE” source
Rancho Mirage Energy Authority — Rancho Mirage
A City of Rancho Mirage enterprise run through CalChoice.
Finances by fiscal year
| Year | Revenue | Power cost | Operating result | Change in net position | Net position / fund balance | Owed to the city's general fund | Transferred to the general fund | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2018 | — | — | — | — | $759,966 | — | — | audited Rancho Mirage enterprise fund. Net position and expenses ($1,334,576) from the statistical section of the FY2023 ACFR; no other figures for this year. | source |
| FY2019 | — | — | — | — | $2.7 million | — | — | audited Rancho Mirage enterprise fund. Net position and expenses ($16,039,442) from the statistical section of the FY2023 ACFR; no other figures for this year. | source |
| FY2020 | — | — | — | — | $4.2 million | — | — | audited Rancho Mirage enterprise fund. Net position and expenses ($18,162,800) from the statistical section of the FY2023 ACFR; no other figures for this year. | source |
| FY2021 | $17.9 million | — | — | — | $3.0 million | — | — | audited Rancho Mirage enterprise fund. Net position and expenses ($19,099,441) from the statistical section of the FY2023 ACFR; no other figures for this year.; operating revenue from the city's documents | source |
| FY2022 | $20.4 million | — | — | −$2.0 million | $963,566 | — | — | audited Rancho Mirage enterprise fund. Net position and expenses ($22,399,936) from the statistical section of the FY2023 ACFR; no other figures for this year.; operating revenue from the city's documents; change in net position from the city's documents | source |
| FY2023 | $30.8 million | — | $7.2 million | $7.3 million | $8.2 million | — | — | audited | source |
| FY2023 | $30.9 million | $22.5 million | — | — | $8.2 million | — | — | as reported | source |
| FY2024 | $39.7 million | — | $11.2 million | $11.5 million | $19.7 million | $0.00 | $0.00 | audited | source |
| FY2024 | $40.0 million | $27.4 million | — | — | $19.7 million | — | — | as reported 'Actual' column of the FY2025-27 budget: beginning $ 8,225,359; 4230 Energy Charges $ 39,756,498. Fund 600 also paid City staff salaries $ 45,109 and benefits $ 18,147. | source |
| FY2025 | $35.0 million | — | −$2.1 million | −$1.4 million | $18.3 million | $0.00 | $0.00 | audited | source |
| FY2025 | $35.7 million | — | — | −$1.4 million | $18.3 million | — | — | as reported | source |
Money between the city and its CCA
| Date | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-05 | Overhead / staff | $ 306,204 city receives | Fund 600 pays City staff salaries (shares of City Manager and finance staff, plus sustainability staff), FY2026-27 budget. | passage · city original |
| 2025-06-05 | Overhead / staff | $ 289,712 city receives | Fund 600 pays City staff salaries (shares of City Manager and finance staff, plus sustainability staff), FY2025-26 budget. | passage · city original |
| 2025-06-05 | Overhead / staff | $ 269,803 city receives | Fund 600 pays City staff salaries (shares of City Manager and finance staff, plus sustainability staff), FY2024-25 estimate. | passage · city original |
| 2025-06-05 | Overhead / staff | $ 115,731 city receives | Fund 600 pays benefits for the City staff it carries, FY2026-27 budget. | passage · city original |
| 2025-06-05 | Overhead / staff | $ 109,274 city receives | Fund 600 pays benefits for the City staff it carries, FY2025-26 budget. | passage · city original |
| 2025-06-05 | Overhead / staff | $ 108,339 city receives | Fund 600 pays benefits for the City staff it carries, FY2024-25 estimate. | passage · city original |
| 2025-06-05 | Overhead / staff | $ 45,109 city receives | Fund 600 pays City staff salaries (shares of City Manager and finance staff, plus sustainability staff), FY2023-24 actual. | passage · city original |
| 2025-06-05 | Overhead / staff | $ 18,147 city receives | Fund 600 pays benefits for the City staff it carries, FY2023-24 actual. | passage · city original |
| 2023-04-06 | Collateral | $147,000 city pays | City cash of $147,000 backed RMEA's CPUC letter of credit since 2018; a surety bond replaces it and the cash returns to the City. | passage · city original |
What the documents say about rates
- 2022-02-03 — “Customers are automatically enrolled into RMEA's 5% discount on electricity” source
- 2022-03-17 — “affirm a .05% discount on electric generation rates” source
- 2023-06-01 — “Maintained savings on generation rates by offering rates lower than SCE generation rates.” source
- 2023-06-15 — “He noted that, even after rate adjustments, the Rancho Mirage Energy Authority (RMEA) still provided savings.” source
- 2023-07-20 — “using RMEA's lower electricity rates will allow businesses and residents to save 5 percent.” source
- 2024-03-07 — “Saving of 5% were mentioned at the creation of RMEA and at todays meeting the recommendation of 0.5% "discount" is proposed.” source
- 2025-02-19 — “RMEA has allowed ONLY 0.05% reduction (proposed discount) compared to SCE electric generation rates” source
- 2025-02-20 — “affirm a 0.5% discount on Southern California Edison's electric generation rates” source
- 2025-05-15 — “To date, RMEA has delivered over $3 million in direct customer savings” source
San Jacinto Power — San Jacinto
A City of San Jacinto enterprise run through CalChoice.
Finances by fiscal year
| Year | Revenue | Power cost | Operating result | Change in net position | Net position / fund balance | Owed to the city's general fund | Transferred to the general fund | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2018 | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | as reported Fund 048 expenditure history in the FY2022-23 budget, column headed Audited (OCR drops the fund number '48' into the row). SJP began serving customers April 2018. | source |
| FY2019 | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | as reported Fund 048 expenditure history in the FY2022-23 budget, column headed Audited (OCR drops the fund number '48' into the row). | source |
| FY2020 | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | as reported Fund 048 expenditure history in the FY2022-23 budget, column headed Audited (OCR drops the fund number '48' into the row). | source |
| FY2021 | — | — | — | — | $1.3 million | — | — | as reported | source |
| FY2022 | $14.9 million | $14.9 million | −$901,746 | −$901,746 | $414,306 | $2.8 million | $0.00 | audited | source |
| FY2023 | $20.4 million | $17.9 million | $1.6 million | $1.6 million | $2.1 million | $2.6 million | $0.00 | audited operating revenue from the city's documents; cost of electricity from the city's documents; operating income from the city's documents; change in net position from the city's documents; due to general fund from the city's documents; transfer to general fund from the city's documents | source |
| FY2024 | $26.1 million | $20.8 million | $4.3 million | $4.2 million | $6.2 million | $1.6 million | $0.00 | audited due to general fund from the city's documents; transfer to general fund from the city's documents | source |
| FY2025 | $26.2 million | $22.5 million | $2.7 million | $2.6 million | $8.9 million | $0.00 | $0.00 | audited | source |
Money between the city and its CCA
| Date | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-05-05 | Overhead / staff | 96,945 city receives | FY2024-25 ACFR: the Power Fund paid 'Overhead allocations' of $96,945 to the City. | passage · city original |
| 2025-03-18 | Loan / transfer to CCA | 1,617,391 city pays | At June 30, 2024 the Power Fund owed the General Fund $1,617,391 as a temporary loan. | passage · city original |
| 2025-03-18 | Repaid to city | (975,942) city receives | FY2023-24: the Power Fund paid $975,942 (net) to other City funds, reducing the General Fund loan. | passage · city original |
| 2025-03-18 | Overhead / staff | 111,043 city receives | FY2023-24 ACFR: the Power Fund paid 'Overhead allocations' of $111,043 to the City. | passage · city original |
| 2024-05-21 | Loan / transfer to CCA | 2,593,333 city pays | At June 30, 2023 the Power Fund owed the General Fund $2,593,333 as a temporary loan. | passage · city original |
| 2024-05-21 | Repaid to city | (248,772) city receives | FY2022-23: the Power Fund paid $248,772 (net) to other City funds, reducing the General Fund loan. | passage · city original |
| 2024-05-21 | Overhead / staff | 119,294 city receives | FY2022-23 ACFR: the Power Fund paid 'Overhead allocations' of $119,294 to the City. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-21 | Loan / transfer to CCA | 2,842,105 city pays | At June 30, 2022 the Power Fund had no cash and owed the General Fund $2,842,105 as a temporary loan. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-21 | Collateral | $147,000 city pays | City cash of $147,000 collateralised SJP's CPUC letter of credit; a surety bond replaces it and the cash returns to the City. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-21 | Overhead / staff | 108,120 city receives | FY2021-22 ACFR: the Power Fund paid 'Overhead allocations' of $108,120 to the City. | passage · city original |
What the documents say about rates
- 2022-03-15 — “resulting in an overall 1.5% savings on generation for SJP customers” source
- 2023-02-07 — “The proposed rates are set at a 3% discount when compared to Southern California Edison's (SCE) current generation rates, including the Power Charge Indifference (PCIA) fee.” source
- 2024-04-02 — “When SCE increased generation rates in June 2023, SJP did not increase rates, resulting in an almost 10% discount for San Jacinto customers.” source
- 2024-04-02 — “at a 0.5% discount, SJP is again absorbing a portion of the operating costs against the reserves that have rebuilt in the past year.” source
- 2026-07-21 — “In addition to setting rates that are competitive with SCE, SJP works to minimize rate volatility” source
San José Clean Energy — San Jose
A department of the City of San José.
Finances by fiscal year
| Year | Revenue | Power cost | Operating result | Change in net position | Net position / fund balance | Rate stabilization fund | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2022 | $351.1 million | — | $19.8 million | — | $48.3 million | — | audited | source |
| FY2023 | $515.5 million | — | $129.1 million | $127.7 million | $176.1 million | — | audited Source table in $000, converted to dollars. Comparatives also in the FY2024 statements. | source |
| FY2024 | $492.3 million | $389.2 million | $78.7 million | $83.8 million | $259.9 million | $50.0 million | audited | source |
| FY2025 | $467.5 million | $427.7 million | $9.2 million | $22.9 million | $282.4 million | $106.0 million | audited | source |
| FY2026 | — | — | — | — | $294.3 million | — | unaudited Unaudited quarterly statement: net position at 30 Sep 2025. | source |
Money between the city and its CCA
| Date | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-06-02 | Overhead / staff | 24% city pays · estimate / proposal | Proposed collection fee for delinquent San José Clean Energy closed-account charges would range from 24% up to 30%, paid to Collection Bureau of America, a collection contractor. | passage · city original |
| 2025-12-09 | Collateral | $625,000,000 city backs · actual / audited | Total authorized amount across the city's variable rate credit programs, including a $175 million San José Clean Energy letter of credit; $87.8 million outstanding as of June 30, 2025. | passage · city original |
| 2025-12-09 | Collateral | $375 million city backs · actual / audited | As of June 30, 2025, San José's SOFR-based borrowing exposure totals $375 million, including a $175 million revolving credit facility for SJCE and $200 million for the wastewater facility. | passage · city original |
| 2025-12-09 | Collateral | $1,953,614 city backs · actual / audited | As of June 30, 2025, $1,953,614 was outstanding on a $175 million JP Morgan letter of credit facility backing San José Clean Energy power provider contracts, expiring 2/17/2028.» | passage · city original |
| 2025-12-02 | Collateral | $25 million city backs · actual / audited | In April 2025 the City cut the JPMorgan standby letter of credit facility (two years or less) securing SJCE power purchase obligations from $100 million to $25 million. | passage · city original |
| 2024-02-07 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $90m city pays · actual / audited | The City extended $90 million of credit to San José Clean Energy in 2021, which was followed by a $47 million loss; later earnings paid off almost all debt. | passage · city original |
| 2023-06-20 | Collateral | $175 million city backs · approved / budgeted | On August 31, 2021 the City authorized raising the commercial paper program cap from $125 million to $175 million, with letter of credit support; part funds San José Clean Energy costs. | passage · city original |
| 2023-06-14 | Loan / advance | $75,000,000 city backs · estimate / proposal | Council proposes reducing the Financing Authority's lease revenue commercial paper authorization for San José Clean Energy power purchases and operating costs to a maximum of $75 million. | passage · city original |
| 2022-12-13 | Collateral | $35,000,000 city backs · actual / audited | In November 2018 San José entered a Barclays credit agreement supporting San José Clean Energy, including a $35 million standby letter of credit facility, later amended to $65 million. | passage · city original |
| 2022-12-13 | Collateral | $10 million to date · city backs · actual / audited | San José Clean Energy has used about $10 million of the city's Barclays standby letter of credit facility (up to $65 million) for collateral, as of December 2022. | passage · city original |
| 2022-12-06 | Collateral | $615 million city backs · actual / audited | As of June 30, 2022, San Jose has about $615 million in letters of credit securing commercial paper programs and credit facilities, including one for San José Clean Energy. | passage · city original |
| 2022-12-06 | Collateral | $250 million city backs · estimate / proposal | City sought up to $250 million in revolving credit and standby letter of credit facilities supporting San José Clean Energy operations; JPMorgan Chase recommended, contract negotiations pending as of November 2022. | passage · city original |
| 2022-12-06 | Loan / advance | $66.95 million city backs · actual / audited | As of June 30, 2022, $66.95 million of City financing authority taxable commercial paper notes were outstanding, issued partly to finance San José Clean Energy costs and operations. | passage · city original |
| 2022-12-06 | Collateral | $65.0 million city backs · actual / audited | As of June 30, 2022, the City's standby letter of credit facility for San José Clean Energy had a $65 million sublimit, with $27.644 million committed and $37.356 million remaining. | passage · city original |
| 2022-12-06 | Collateral | $50,000,000 city backs · approved / budgeted | City Council authorized in 2018 a Barclays revolving credit agreement up to $50 million, borrowed by the City to finance San José Clean Energy start-up costs, power purchases and letters of credit. | passage · city original |
| 2022-12-06 | Collateral | $37.4 million city backs · actual / audited | As of June 30, 2022, about $37.356 million remained available under the standby letter of credit facility the City backs for SJCE collateral calls; the marked figure is truncated ($3 7,356 thousand). | passage · city original |
| 2022-12-06 | Collateral | $20,000,000 city backs · actual / audited | Under its credit agreement with the Bank, the City must keep $20 million in the SJCE Operating Reserve Account at all times since June 24, 2021, and has complied. | passage · city original |
| 2022-06-16 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $15.0 million city pays · approved / budgeted | City Council allocated $15.0 million of Commercial Paper note authorization in 2020-2021 to cover San José Clean Energy's projected cash flow shortage. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-29 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $100 million to date · city pays · approved / budgeted | A June 2021 amendment to the Barclays credit agreement lets San José lend commercial paper proceeds to SJCE up to $100 million, raised from $10 million. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-29 | Loan / advance | $95 million city backs · approved / budgeted | City Council and Authority approved up to $95 million in lease revenue commercial paper notes in June 2021 to finance SJCE power purchases and operating costs; $60 million issued by Feb 2022. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-29 | Collateral | $80,000 city backs · approved / budgeted | Barclays credit agreement with the City caps combined revolving loans and standby letters of credit for San José Community Energy at $80 million outstanding at any time, secured by SJCE revenues. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-29 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $ 60.0 million to date · city pays · actual / audited | As of Feb 28, 2022, $60.0 million of City-backed lease revenue commercial paper was issued to fund SJCE power purchases and operating costs, to be repaid from SJCE revenues. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-29 | Collateral | $30,000,000 city backs · approved / budgeted | Barclays committed up to $30 million in revolving loans to the City to finance SJCE start-up and power purchase costs, secured by SJCE revenues; facility expired November 2021. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-08 | Collateral | 25% city backs · estimate / proposal | Under the CC Power long-duration storage contracts, each participating CCA, including SJCE, would absorb up to 25% extra share of costs if other CCAs default. | passage · city original |
Santa Barbara Clean Energy — Santa Barbara
A City of Santa Barbara enterprise run through CalChoice; its default is 100% renewable.
Finances by fiscal year
| Year | Revenue | Operating result | Change in net position | Net position / fund balance | Owed to the city's general fund | Transferred to the general fund | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2022 | — | — | — | — | $2.1 million | — | audited | source |
| FY2022 | $16.3 million | — | $763,421 | — | — | — | as reported FY2022 actuals in the FY2023 year-end report table ('Add / (Use) Reserves' $763,421 shown as change). First year of service (residential from October 2021). | source |
| FY2023 | $43.4 million | $5.8 million | $5.9 million | $4.3 million | $2.1 million | — | audited Beginning-of-year net position in the FY2024 ACFR; FY2023 service charges given only as "$43.0M".; operating revenue from the city's documents; operating income from the city's documents; due to general fund from the city's documents; change in net position from the city's documents | source |
| FY2024 | $54.1 million | $20.7 million | $21.0 million | $25.2 million | $2.1 million | — | audited due to general fund from the city's documents | source |
| FY2024 | $51.3 million | — | $21.3 million | — | — | — | as reported | source |
| FY2025 | $46.9 million | −$9.4 million | −$8.5 million | $16.8 million | $0.00 | $0.00 | audited | source |
| FY2025 | $45.2 million | — | −$11.1 million | — | — | — | as reported | source |
| FY2026 | $43.8 million | — | $2.2 million | — | — | — | as reported FY2026 year-end report ('operating gain of $2.2 Million'; 'Add/(Use) Reserves' $2,231,866 shown as change). | source |
Money between the city and its CCA
| Date | Kind | Figure | What it is | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-05-13 | Overhead / staff | $432,206 city receives | Sustainability & Resilience office lease ($432,206 gross) is split among Creeks, Solid Waste and SBCE funds; SBCE share not stated. | passage · city original |
| 2025-03-18 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2,131,691 city pays | ACFR: General Fund startup advance to SBCE was $2,131,691 at June 30, 2024 (still growing). | passage · city original |
| 2025-02-25 | Overhead / staff | $4,566 city receives | Position reclassification costing $4,566 in FY2025: half grant-funded, the rest funded by SBCE. | passage · city original |
| 2024-07-02 | Overhead / staff | $320k city receives | CAP staffing table: two Energy & Climate Specialists, $320k in FY26, funded by SBCE and grants. | passage · city original |
| 2024-07-02 | Overhead / staff | $200k city receives | CAP staffing table: SBCE Programs Manager position, $200k in FY25, funded by SBCE. | passage · city original |
| 2024-07-02 | Overhead / staff | $160k city receives | CAP staffing table: Grant Writer position, $160k in FY25, funded by SBCE. | passage · city original |
| 2024-04-16 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2,096,996 city pays | ACFR: General Fund advance to SBCE was $2,096,996 at June 30, 2023 (larger than a year earlier). | passage · city original |
| 2023-04-11 | Collateral | $25,000.00 city backs · approved / budgeted | Council approved a surety bond up to $25,000 to meet the financial security requirement for the city's Santa Barbara Clean Energy CCA program, April 2023. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-14 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2,062,957 city pays | ACFR: General Fund advance to SBCE was $2,062,957 at June 30, 2022, at 1.65%, repayable over five years from FY2023. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-14 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $1.55 million city pays | FY22 General Fund budget amendment advanced $1.55 million to the Clean Energy fund for startup costs. | passage · city original |
| 2023-03-14 | Loan / advance | 1.65% a year · city receives · actual / audited | The General Fund advanced $2,062,957 to the Clean Energy Enterprise Fund for Santa Barbara Clean Energy start-up costs, carrying 1.65% interest, repayable annually over five years starting FY2023. | passage · city original |
| 2022-09-27 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $542,161 city pays | Staff request an additional $542,161 loan at FY2022 year-end; whether it was disbursed is not stated. | passage · city original |
| 2022-06-08 | Overhead / staff | $ 80,729 city receives | FY2023 budget moves the Energy Analyst II position from the General Fund to the Clean Energy Fund. | passage · city original |
| 2022-03-08 | Repaid to city | $500,000 city receives | Finance Committee refuses to forgive a $500,000 loan payment due to the General Fund; a one-year deferral to be considered. | passage · city original |
| 2020-11-17 | Loan / transfer to CCA | $2 million city pays | Council approves a $2 million General Fund loan (from the SCE Thomas Fire settlement) to SBCE; minutes reproduced in the March 2022 packet. | passage · city original |
| 2020-11-17 | Collateral | $147,000 | Same action: $147,000 from the SBCE fund deposited in the City's River City Bank escrow account as financial security. | passage · city original |
What the documents say about rates
- 2023-02-28 — “a slight 1.6 cent per kilowatt-hour premium above the SCE rate” source
- 2023-06-13 — “from the SCE base rate + $0.012/kWh to the SCE base rate + $0.016/kWh” source
- 2025-02-11 — “This results in an overall premium of $0.036/kWh for the carbon free product as compared to SCE's base rate, though customers will see no change in their generation charges as compared to today.” source